Skip to main content

Construction and Design Guide: HVAC

Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC) Research

Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning in buildings represent substantial energy demands, and insufficient ventilation may result in poor indoor air quality and health problems. Designing for optimum ventilation performance is a vital part of building design. Use this list of selected titles to begin your research; use the search terms to find more books and articles at UC Berkeley and beyond. For general information, please see Building Science Resourcesa guide to the literature of building systems, performance measurement, technology, materials, etc.

Search Terms

Use these subject headings and keywords in Melvyl and OskiCat catalogs and in the article indexes.

Air conditioning 
   --Control Handbooks, manuals, etc. 
   --Equipment and supplies 
   --Design and construction. 
   --Handbooks, manuals, etc. 
Air cooling 
Architecture and energy conservation 

Buildings Ventilation 
Cooling Handbooks, manuals, etc. 
Cooling systems 
Dwellings--Heating and ventilation 
Evaporative cooling
 
Heat Radiation and absorption 
Heating--Design and construction. 
   --Handbooks, manuals, etc. 
Historic buildings Heating and ventilation 
Indoor air pollution 

Photovoltaic power generation 
Radiant cooling 
Radiant heating  
Solar Buildings 
Solar Energy--Passive Systems
 
Ventilation Equipment and supplies 
   --Design and construction. 
   --Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Reference

Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks for terminology, illustrations, and definitions.

Air Conditioning

Design and Systems

Energy Conservation

Natural Ventilation & Indoor Air Quality (IAQ)

Solar Heating and Cooling

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.