Select the image below to see the full campus library map.
See also:
Get started on your research by familiarizing yourself with the UC Berkeley library system. See below for quick links to where libraries are on campus, hours, and more.
Linda Tuhiwai Smith, Maori scholar, writes that "research is probably one of the dirtiest words in the indigenous world's vocabulary" (Decolonizing Methodologies, 1999). Historically, academic research has been based on exploitation of indigenous communities. Part of getting started is being intentional about the goals, ethics, and process of your research -- What are you hoping to achieve? How will you collect information and work with communities? Do you have insider or outsider perspectives on the issues you are studying (or both)? How will you share the results of your research?
The Research Justice Toolkit, created by the Data Center, may be another place to start to think about social justice-oriented research.
More from UC Berkeley Library on Vimeo.
The Ethnic Studies Library is open to the public -- community members may use our facilities and archives. There is wi-fi access for visitors. For access to books, see information below on library cards for non-UCB patrons. We also have a book scanner where pdfs can be created. We also have six public access computers with access to selected UC Berkeley library databases for journals, articles, newspapers, and more. For questions, please eslibrary@berkeley.edu.
There are a variety of options (both free and fee-based) for obtaining Library borrowing privileges based on your academic affiliation. Please review application details at the bottom of this page for further details on obtaining your card.
Borrowing privileges and other services are offered to the Cal community of visiting scholars.
After registering with Visiting Scholars and Postdoc Affairs, take your valid registration card to the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1 to obtain a Library card.
Library information for Visiting Scholars has additional information and applicable details.
Obtain a retiree ID card from the UC Berkeley Retirement Center.
Present your retiree ID card and a government issued photo ID to the Privileges Desk,Doe Library, Floor 1 to obtain a borrowing card.
Your LBNL photo ID card serves as your library card for borrowing materials and for access to the Main (Gardner) Stacks.
If you have a dual UCB appointment, continue to use your Cal 1 Card to access library services.
Most LBNL borrowers have the same level of privileges as campus staff, although LBNL scientists may present documentation in person to the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1 to have their patron record upgraded to faculty status.
LBNL longterm guests/visitors are no longer charged a per person fee for access to the library. Their privileges will expire on the end date of their visit as recorded in the LBNL Human Resource system.
LBNL retirees need to present their Berkeley Retirement Center card at the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1 to obtain a borrowing card.
Berkeley Extension faculty have UC Berkeley Library privileges automatically conferred based on an appointment record.
UCExtension faculty will use their Cal 1 ID Card as their UC Berkeley Library Card.
Berkeley Extension students may purchase a six-month borrowing card by presenting proof of current registration at the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Foor 1 along with a government issued photo ID (state ID or passport).
The fee is $25. Please review application and privileges details at the bottom of this page.
Remote access to licensed electronic resources such as journals and databases is available with this card.
Proxy borrowers may check out library materials in the name of authorizing faculty or academic staff.
The proxy borrower application form includes eligibility requirements and a statement of responsibility.
The authorizing faculty or academic staff must complete and submit the online application that will be received by the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1.
Your Stanford University ID serves as your UC Berkeley Library card which gives borrowing privileges at the UC Berkeley Libraries.
You are also eligible for Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP) privileges.
You must be currently enrolled to purchase a six-month borrowing card.
Proof of eligibility is your current student ID, and proof of current registration.
The fee for a six-month borrowing card is $25.
Present proof of eligibility, and pay the fee, at the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1.
Please review application and privileges details below.
You may obtain a borrowing card by presenting a letter on school letterhead, signed by your department Chair, confirming your full-time affiliation with your school, and a California driver's license.
Present proof of eligibility at the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1.
Please review application and privileges details below.
You may obtain a borrowing card by presenting a letter on school letterhead, signed by your principal, confirming your full-time affiliation with your school, and a California driver's license.
Present proof of eligibility at the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1.
Remote access to licensed electronic resources such as journals and databases, is not available with this card.
Library information for K-12 Teachers has additional information and applicable details.
Please review application and privileges details below.
You may purchase a one-year borrowing card.
The fee is $100.
Please present a current California driver's license, or California state ID card at the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1.
Remote access to licensed electronic resources such as journals and databases, is not available with this card.
Please review application and privileges details below.
Present proof of your Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP) eligibility and current academic status at the Privileges Desk (Doe Library, Floor 1).
Or contact the Privileges RLCP staff at: coopprog-library@berkeley.edu in advance of your visit, to schedule an appointment for borrowing card initiation at the Privileges Desk.
Privileges Desk staff are responsible for determining eligibility and coverage for:
Contact the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1 for more information.
Moffitt Library is reserved for the campus community and is open to those with a current UCB ID or gold UC Berkeley Library Card.
One-year and six-month Library cards grant borrowing privileges and access to the Main (Gardner) Stacks, and most subject specialty libraries.
Privileges do not extend to Interlibrary borrowing services.
Access to special collections and services may be restricted.
Cardholders may have a maximum of twenty books checked out at any given time.
All applicants must provide proof of California residence by presenting a current government-issued ID such as a driver's license or state issued ID.
Applicants who use a PO BOX for mail will be obligated to provide proof of California residence address for record purposes.
Payment for borrowing cards may be made by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card, bank debit card, or personal check made payable to "UC Regents".
The Library cannot accept cash for payment.
Bring your original library card, a current California driver's license or California state ID card, and payment (if required) to the Privileges Desk, Doe Library, Floor 1 during business hours to renew your borrowing privileges. Some extra documentation is required for specific cohorts of borrowers:
If your affiliation was not listed above and/or you have questions regarding documentation requirements, please contact the Privileges Desk in advance of your visit.