Skip to main content

Digital Publishing Series: Home

Workshop series on digital publishing and project creation

 

Digital Publishing Workshops

Whether you are looking to create a companion website for your book, a scholarly portfolio, or a full-scale digital project, this workshop series is designed to get you up and running with the skills and tools you need for successful digital publications.

This series is designed for faculty, graduate students, and staff in the Humanities and Social Sciences and is open to any member of the UC Berkeley community.

Fall 2017

Web Platforms for Digital Projects
Designing in Drupal
WordPress for Easy and Attractive Websites
Share Your Scholarship: Humanities Commons
HTML/CSS Toolkit for Digital Projects

Spring 2018

Digital Scholarly Editions with TEI
Scalar for Multimedia Digital Projects
Publish Digital Books & Open Educational Resources with Pressbooks
Copyright and Fair Use for Digital Projects
Omeka for Digital Collections and Exhibits
By Design: Graphics & Images Basics
The Long Haul: Best Practices for Making Your Digital Project Last

Web Platforms for Digital Projects

Wednesday, September 13th, 4:10-5:00pm

D-Lab, 350 Barrows Hall

Stacy Reardon, Library

How do you go about publishing a digital book, a multimedia project, a digital exhibit, or another kind of digital project? In this workshop, we'll take a look at use cases for common open-source web platforms WordPress, Drupal, Omeka, and Scalar, and we'll talk about hosting, storage, and asset management. There will be time for hands-on work in the platform most suited to your needs. No coding experience is necessary. Please bring a laptop if possible.
Register

Designing in Drupal

Thursday, October 19th from 4:10-5:30pm

D-Lab, 350 Barrows Hall

Stephanie Moore

Drupal is a powerful open source content management system that provides a flexible platform for web-based digital research projects, no programming required. If your project involves a database, or complex analytical relationships between texts, objects, and/or images, Drupal offers many options for organizing and displaying that material. In this workshop, you will learn how Drupal works, see examples of Drupal projects, and be guided through the steps to create your own customizable Drupal sandbox site. No coding knowledge is required for this workshop. Please bring a laptop if possible.
Register

WordPress for Easy and Attractive Websites

Wednesday, November 8th, 4:10-5:00pm

D-Lab, 350 Barrows Hall

Stacy Reardon, Library

In this hands-on workshop, we will learn the basics of creating a WordPress site, a web-based platform good for blogs, scholarly portfolios, and websites. By the end of the workshop, you will know how to post content, embed images and video, customize themes and appearance, and work with plugins. Please bring a laptop if possible.
Register

Share Your Scholarship: Humanities Commons

Tuesday, November 14th, 4:10-5:00pm

Academic Innovation Studio, Dwinelle Hall 117 (Level D)

Stacy Reardon, Library

Humanities Commons, a new platform developed by the MLA and other humanities organizations, offers a professional alternative to for-profit academic networking sites like Academia.edu. In this workshop, we'll learn how to make your research available online, develop an academic portfolio, and connect with colleagues at other universities using Humanities Commons. We'll also touch on eScholarship, the digital repository of the University of California. Please bring a laptop if possible.
Register

HTML/CSS Toolkit for Digital Projects

Tuesday, December 5th, 4:10-5:00pm

D-Lab, 350 Barrows Hall

Stacy Reardon and Cody Hennesy, Library

If you've tinkered in WordPress, Google Sites, or other web publishing tools, chances are you've wanted more control over the placement and appearance of your content. With a little HTML and CSS under your belt, you'll know how to edit "under the hood" so you can place an image exactly where you want it, customize the formatting of text, or troubleshoot copy & paste issues. By the end of this workshop, interested learners will be well prepared for a deeper dive into the world of web design. Please bring a laptop if possible.
Register

Digital Scholarly Editions with TEI

Tuesday, February 13th, 4:10-5:30pm

D-Lab, 350 Barrows Hall

Stacy Reardon, Library

The Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) offers a standard way of describing texts to make them machine readable. A flavor of XML, TEI has been used in many humanities and social sciences disciplines, and it has a dedicated vocabulary for describing literary texts. TEI may be used to create digital editions, prepare texts for research, and preserve texts in a digital format. In this workshop, we'll provide an overview of TEI, try some hands-on encoding, and prepare you for the next steps in learning TEI. Please bring a laptop if possible.
Register

Publish Digital Books & Open Educational Resources with Pressbooks

Tuesday, February 20th, 1:10-2:00pm

Academic Innovation Studio, Dwinelle Hall 117 (Level D)

Rachael Samberg, Library

If you're looking to self-publish work of any length and want an easy-to-use tool that offers a high degree of customization, allows flexibility with publishing formats (EPUB, MOBI, PDF), and provides web-hosting options, Pressbooks may be great for you. Pressbooks is often the tool of choice for academics creating digital books, open textbooks, and open educational resources, since you can license your materials for reuse however you desire. Learn why and how to use Pressbooks for publishing your original books or course materials. You'll leave the workshop with a project already under way!
Register

Scalar for Multimedia Digital Projects

Wednesday, February 21st, 4:10-5:30pm

D-Lab, 350 Barrows Hall

Stacy Reardon, Library

Developed by the Alliance for Networking Visual Culture, Scalar is a web platform designed especially for multimedia digital projects and for multimedia academic texts. Like Wordpress, it is easy to create content, but it is distinguished by multiple ways of navigating through a project, annotation and metadata features, and image and video options. Choose it to develop born digital projects and books, or as a companion site for traditional scholarship. In this hands-on workshop, we’ll learn how to create a Scalar project, create pages and media, add metadata and annotations, and define paths.
Register

Wednesday, March 14th, 11:10-12:40pm

D-Lab, 350 Barrows Hall

Rachael Samberg, Scholarly Communication Officer, Library

This training will help you navigate the copyright, fair use, and usage rights of including third-party content in your digital project. Whether you seek to embed video from other sources for analysis, post material you scanned from a visit to the archives, add images, upload documents, or more, understanding the basics of copyright and discovering a workflow for answering copyright-related digital scholarship questions will make you more confident in your publication. We will also provide an overview of your intellectual property rights as a creator and ways to license your own work.
Register

Omeka for Digital Collections and Exhibits

Wednesday, April 11th, 4:10-5:00pm

D-Lab, 350 Barrows Hall

Stacy Reardon, Library and Emily Vigor, Environmental Design Archives

Omeka is ideal for creating and displaying an online collection or exhibit composed of many digital items. If you have a bunch of digital images, scans, and files around a certain theme or project, and you would like to organize, describe, and showcase these files, Omeka may be a good fit for you. In this hands-on workshop, we will learn how to add and describe items in Omeka, the basics of the Dublin Core metadata schema, and how to create webpages with the Simple Pages plugin.
Register

By Design: Graphics & Images Basics

Tuesday, April 17th, 4:10-5:00pm

Academic Innovation Studio, Dwinelle Hall 117 (Level D)

Lynn Cunningham, Library, Eugene De La Rosa, Visual Resource Center, and Julie Wolf, Visual Resource Center

In this hands-on workshop, we will learn how to create web graphics for your digital publishing projects and websites. We will cover topics such as: image editing tools in Photoshop; image resolution for the web; sources for free public domain and Creative Commons images; and image upload to publishing tools such as WordPress. If possible, please bring a laptop with Photoshop installed. (All UCB faculty and students can receive a free Adobe Creative Suite license: https://software.berkeley.edu/adobe)
Register

The Long Haul: Best Practices for Making Your Digital Project Last

Tuesday, May 1st, 4:10-5:00pm

Doe Library 303

Stacy Reardon, Library; Rachael Samberg, Library; Kate Tasker, Bancroft

You've invested a lot of work in creating a digital project, but how do you ensure it has staying power? We'll look at choices you can make at the beginning of project development to influence sustainability, best practices for documentation and asset management, and how to sunset your project in a way that ensures long-term access for future researchers.
Register

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.