Skip to main content

eBooks at Berkeley: Finding

Finding Library-Licensed eBooks at Berkeley

Finding Library-Licensed eBooks

The Library buys and subscribes to both individual eBook titles and collections of eBooks available to campus-affiliated users and members of the public using public-access computers in the Library. Those eBooks appear on various platforms--such as Springer, ebraryEBSCO, and Safari--but you can find eBook titles using the Library's main search tools:


 

Search EBSCO Discovery Service (Start your Search) for eBooks

 


Downloading eBooks

Campus-affiliated users and members of the public on library public-access computers can often download some version or portion of library-licensed eBooks, but access varies by platform*. Those users can almost always read the entire book online, and can often download single chapters or a limited number of pages. Sometimes users can download an entire book without restrictions, and other times you can "check out" the eBook for a limited period of time (though the latter may be limited to campus-affiliated users). Many eBook platforms offer PDF downloads, and others require the use of free eBook viewing/reading software. 

Use the tabs above to explore how to access eBook content from a few popular platforms. The following platforms offer full downloads (check-outs) of at least some eBooks in their collections:

* Off-campus access to library-licensed eBooks, like other online library resources, is not available to members of the public. More information on who is eligible to use the proxy server.

Tips for finding eBooks

Start Your Search

  • In the Start Your Search search results, select eBooks from the Source Types filter in the column to the left of the page.
    source types in start your search
  • If you don't see a listing for eBooks under Source Types, choose the Show More link and look for eBooks there.
     
  • To jump directly to the eBook contents on the vendor's site look for links to:
    • PDF Full Text 
    • Online Access
    • ePub Full Text
    • Full Text from...
      ebooks in search results
  • Note that Download (Offline) links require you to create and login to a My EBSCOHost account.

OskiCat

  • From OskiCat's Quick Search, change the dropdown to the right of the search box from "Entire Collection" to "Available Online" and enter your search terms.
    oskicat search
  • To access an eBook from the OskiCat search results, first select the link to a particular title.
  • Access the eBook via the link in the Link to online version(s) box. NOTE: The link will include the name of the database, not the eBook title, and often includes a notice such as "Restricted to UC campuses."
    link to eBook

Finding Open Online eBooks

eBook platforms

Acknowledgements

This guide was adapted from Cornell University Library's Ebooks at Cornell guide

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.