Skip to main content

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology: Best for Articles

Covers general resources on ecology, evolutionary biology

Start with

Use the best databases for articles, reports, papers, government documents. Start with databases listed below, use this link for many more, http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/bioscience-databases

Selected Databases for articles

BIOSIS Previews
Articles, conference papers, and books on biological and biomedical topics, Literature reviews.  [1926 - present]

CAB Abstracts
Agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]

Environment Complete
Journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]

PubMed
Biomedical literature citations from MEDLINE, journals, mbooks. [1950 - present]

Scopus
Journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series+.

Web of Science
Best for article and cited reference searching. [1900 - present]

Best Databases

Google Scholar
  • Search articles, books, preprints, reports+. (Specialized databases will provide depth to your search).
  • Use with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Preferences", click on Library Links search for "Berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks."
  • Listings may include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item
JSTOR
Full-text articles from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (most recent 3-5 years) may not be available in JSTOR. [dates vary] For more search capabilities, go to JSTOR advanced search.

JSTOR Global Plants
A community-contributed database of high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. (JSTOR Plant Science)

Statistics and Unique Data

My NCBI: search all databases, includes data, genetic

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics. Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. includes industry reports. UCB access only

Preprints


bioArxiv.org
search by preprints of articles by subject, updated daily

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.