Skip to main content

Thesis and Dissertation Research in Environmental Design: Finding the Basics

A strategic bibliographic guide for architecture, city planning, urban design, and landscape architecture graduate students beginning their professional report, thesis, or dissertation work.

Interlibrary Loan

If we don't own what you need, you can try to borrow it from another library using the Interlibrary Borrowing Service. UCB faculty and grad students may also request materials directly from Stanford University and the University of Texas, Austin, via the Research Library Cooperative Program.

Finding Books

Finding Journal Articles

Journal article indexes: See the following web guides for descriptions of the core journal article indexes for landscape architecture, environmental planning, city planning, and architecture.

UC-eLinks helps you retrieve full-text articles listed in many of our journal databases and Google Scholar.  For more information, view this 2-minute video.

UC-eLinks Citation Linker. Use this handy form to locate the article from your citation. UC-eLinks will retrieve the full-text article, if available.  If not, it may direct you to a printed version in OskiCat or request it through Interlibrary Loans.

Google Scholar: Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases cover architecture and design more completely).  Use the UC-eLinks option, when available, to find UCB access to a publication. Be sure to set Google Scholar Settings/Library links to “University of California Berkeley – UC e-Links”.

Full-text articles (electronic)

Once you have created a successful search in a periodical index or database, keep yourself informed as new items that match your original search appear. Some online indexes and databases (e.g., Avery Index, Sociological Abstracts and Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) provide an 'alert' service, that sends an e-mail notifying you of new citations added to the database on your topic. Most require you to log in after creating a password. If you need help, ask a librarian.

Finding Newspaper Article

Use the geographic card file in Newspapers and Microforms, 1st Floor, Doe Library, to identify newspapers by location. For newspapers on the web see News Article Databases on the library's website,

Finding Statistics and Data

For assistance using data sets and analytical software, consult with the Data Lab.

See the guide Statistics & Data for City Planning for more resources.

Searching for maps

The Earth Sciences and Map Library collection and the Bancroft Library have outstanding collections of maps, especially for California and the Bay Area.

Searching for images

Note that archives are often an excellent source of images. See the guide Image Sources for the Built Environment or  Image and Sound databases for more resources.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.