Skip to main content

Thesis and Dissertation Research in Environmental Design: More Resources

A strategic bibliographic guide for architecture, city planning, urban design, and landscape architecture graduate students beginning their professional report, thesis, or dissertation work.

Archives

An archive is a collection containing original records, documents, images, drawings, correspondence, or other materials. For a researcher, archives are a treasure house of primary resources. See Archival Collections and Primary Source Databases for additional archival sources.


Using archival materials For information on locating and using archives and special collections, see these research guides.:


Finding archival materials

Selected archival collections in California

Biography

Book Reviews

Note that in several journal article databases you may limit your search to reviews.

Book review sources for architecture city planning, and landscape architecture (UC Berkeley, Library). Bibliographic guides to book reviews on subjects in environmental design. Includes search instructions.

Citation Indexes

Use citation indexes to track the work and impact of a particular author. Also a good way to identify other authors working on the same topic. The following citation indexes help you discover where a particular article is cited.

Dissertations

Dissertations not owned by UC Berkeley may be purchased or borrowed through Interlibrary Service. Note that ordinary Melvyl subject searches will frequently miss dissertations which often are not given subject treatment; in Advanced Search use main title searches in combination with format=dissertations.

Environmental Impact Reports (EIRs)

Environmental impact reports (EIRs), also known as environmental impact statements (EISs), are the product of an environmental impact assessment process. EIRs document the site conditions for specific proposed projects or developments, and can be extremely valuable sources of data about current and past site conditions. EIRs may be found in many campus libraries. To locate them, search OskiCat or Melvyl, using the subject environmental impact statements in combination with a place or site name. Public libraries also collect local EIRs.

Building Codes and Technical Literature

General Plans

General and area plans are often good sources of neighborhood histories, maps, and basic socio-economic statistics. See the research guide Finding general plans (UC Berkeley, Library).

Organizations

Community and professional organizations can be valuable information resources, e.g., local historical societies; neighborhood planning groups; regional and national landscape architects' associations.

See the following online guides for listings as noted:

Proceedings

Papers from proceedings, colloquia, etc., are indexed somewhat haphazardly through journal article indexes. Note types of materials covered when using an unfamiliar index.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.