Skip to main content

ESPM 10: Environmental Issues: Cite Sources

Research resources for ESPM C10. Relationship between human society and the natural environment.

Citation Managers

Reference managers (also called citation managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record. Wikipedia comparison of reference management software

RefWorks

  • RefWorks guide
  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Web-based: use at any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Google Docs
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension or standalone program
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Mendeley

  • Mendeley guide
  • Free software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

EndNote

  • EndNote guide
  • Discounted to UC Berkeley users
  • Desktop-based software (plus EndNote Web)
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users

 

Citing Your Sources

compare

  EndNote
New features 6000+ bib styles, templates. New: MS Word Addin, Google Docs App.. New: premium upgrade for UCB users. New: Stand alone 5.0
Other Best for personal management & large collections. Good for links to UCB databases & downloads. Not as agile with EBSCO databases Works with Firefox, Safari & Chrome; open source
Storage space (reference & attachment) Unlimited w/ EndNote X8. Unlimited storage. 100GB for UCB Accounts, (2G for others). 300 MB. 700+ papers
(more space available)
Cost UC <$100, or use the Free Trial. Free through UCB UCB users get premium upgrades. Free, more storage w/ subscription.
Web or desktop Both Web Both Web & browser plug-in
How do you use it? Full - Your Computer
Basic - EndNote Web
Internet, iCloud. Full - Your computer
Basic - Mendeley Web
Full - Your computer
Basic - Zotero Web
Strengths Robust; good search & storage; direct export with UCB Library databases; works with PubMed Works well with UCB Library databases; share citations; good for organizing & formatting citations Find other researchers in your field. Receive new papers in your research area. Good at pulling metatdata from web resources, PDFs import automatically.
Word Processing Integrates with MS Word. CWYW; Format Paper with Pages, Nissus, WordPad, others Write-n-Cite plug-in works only with MS Word; One Line/Cite View works with all word processors Cite references in all major citation styles using plug-ins that work with MS Word and Libre Office. Export to BibTex or integrate with Overleaf. Plug-ins that work with MS Word, OpenOffice, LibreOffice
Annotation of PDFs Yes. Allows open PDFs to highlight, add comments, and tags while reading them. RefWorks allows a list of references rather than help you manage PDFs. Yes. Allows open PDFs highlight, add comments, and tags to PDFs while reading them. Use Zotfile to manage PDFs, add comments to stored citations and  attach PDFs to citations.
Use UC eLinks to get full text. Yes yes    
After UC Berkeley You own it Alumni accounts available Alumni get 1 year of premium access then revert to free version or subscribe individually. Free
Sharing options EndNote web. Share folders information Share documents within private groups. Groups use the creator's storage space.
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.