Skip to main content

ESPM 10: Environmental Issues: News, Statistics & More

Relationship between human society and the natural environment.

News on Environmental Topics

Selected Statistics

CDC Wonder
Provides access to Center of Disease Control reports, guidelines, and dozens of text-based and numeric databases, including vital statistics, environment, population, disease and disability, immunization, behavior and health, injuries, occupational health, and more.

CensusScope
Easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. Includes graphics and exportable trend data.

Data Planet
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators.

Data.gov

Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.

FastStats A to Z
Quick access to public health statistics organized alphabetically. Includes links to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Search statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

U.S. Census Bureau
Publications, software, maps, and data sets. QuickFacts will get state, county, and city demographics (including age, race/ethnicity, income, residence, education), business information, and much more.

Websites

California GeoPortal 

Case Studies. Environmental Case Studies (McGraw-Hill) - see West category for some California-specific cases. 

Encyclopedia of Earth. Online reference covering climate change, energy, forests, and more.

Envirofacts - Environmental information and data [EPA] 

NatureServe: Non-profit network of natural heritage conservation programs, offers information about rare and endangered species and threatened ecosystems.

Science.gov - scientific information produced by US government agencies.

World Development Indicators (WDI)
Tables of statistics for population, labor and employment, education, health, energy, urbanization, transport and communication, information and technology, and more. Coverage Dates: 1960 - present. (210 countries).

World Resources Institute - Information on climate, energy, food, forests, cities & transport, more.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.