Skip to main content

Designing A Research Strategy: Guides to Research

This search strategy is intended as a general guide for students in the College of Environmental Design at UC Berkeley. You can vary it depending on your specific needs, but consider all of these basic steps.

Guides To Research—General

tipFor more or newer publications on this subject, check the library catalogs under these subject headings: research methodology handbooks; grey literature; or library resources united states handbooks.

How to research. Blaxter, Loraine. Buckingham [UK]; Philadelphia: Open University Press, 1996.

The craft of research. Booth, Wayne C. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, c2008.

The SAGE Handbook of online research methods. Fielding, Nigel et al. Los Angeles ; London : SAGE, 2008.

An introduction to qualitative research. Flick, Uwe., London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, 2009.

MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing. Gibaldi, Joseph. 3rd ed. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2008.

Handbook of Research Synthesis, ed. by Harris Cooper and Larry V. Hedges. New York, Russell Sage Foundation, 2009.

The investigative reporter's Handbook : a guide to documents, databases and techniques. Houston , Brant. Boston, Bedford/St. Martin's, c2002.

How to Research in an Archive, University of Texas, Austin, Alexander Architectural Archive, An excellent introduction to effective and efficient use of an archive. 

Techniques for student research : a comprehensive guide to using the library. Lane, Nancy. Imprint New York : Neal-Schuman Publishers, c2000.

Practical research : planning and design. Leedy, Paul D. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Merrill, c2010.

Paper trails: a guide to public records in California. Levine, Stephen, 2nd ed. San Francisco : Center for Investigative Reporting ; Sacramento California Newspaper Publishers Association,1996

The Oxford guide to library research. Mann, Thomas. New York : Oxford University Press, c2005.

Student guide to research in the digital age : how to locate and evaluate information source. Stebbins, Leslie F. Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, 2006.

Using Archives, a practical guide for researchers, Library and Archives Canada. Another good guide to using archives for research

Guides To Research—Architecture, Design, & Humanities

tipFor more or newer publications on this subject search the library catalogs under these subject headings: art# authorship, or art research handbooks, or architecture research

A short guide to writing about art. Barnet, Sylvan. 10th ed. New Jersey: Pearson, 2011

The dissertation: an architecture student's handbook. Borden, Iain and Katerina Reudi. Oxford, Boston: Architectural Press, 2006.

Research methods for construction. Fellows, Richard. Oxford; Malden, MA, USA: Blackwell Science, 2003.

 Architectural research methods. Groat, Linda N. New York: J. Wiley, 2002.

Researching and writing in the humanities and arts. Hult, Christine A. Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c1996.

Art information and the Internet: how to find it, how to use it. Jones, Lois Swan. Phoenix, Oryz Press, 1999. 

A short guide to writing about history. Marius, Richard. 4th ed. New York: Longman, 2002.

Writing about art. Munsterberg, Marjorie. [New York] : c2009. 

Visual Research Methods in Design. Sanoff, Henry. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991.

Writing about art. Sayre, Henry M. 5th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 2006.

Environmental Design Research: How To Do It and How To Apply It. Wehrli, Robert. NY:, Wiley, 1986.

Guides To Research—Planning & Social Sciences

tipFor more or newer publications in this subject, search the library catalogs using these subject headings: social sciences research methodology or environmental psychology research methodology

A handbook for social science field research : essays & bibliographic sources on research design and methods. Edited by Ellen Perecman, Sara R. Curran. Imprint Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2006.

Doing Urban Research. Andranovich, Gregory D. Newbury Park: Sage, 1993.

Tricks of the trade: how to think about your research while you're doing it. Becker, Howard Saul. Chicago, Ill.: University of Chicago Press, 1998

Writing for social scientists : how to start and finish your thesis, book, or article. Becker, Howard Saul. Chicago, Ill: University of Chicago Press, 2007. 

Qualitative research methods for the social sciences. Berg, Bruce. 6th ed. Boston: Pearson/Allyn & Bacon, 2007.

A short guide to writing about social science. Cuba, Lee J.  New York : Longman, c2002.

Undoing the silence : six tools for social change writing. Dunlap, Louise. Oakland, CA : New Village Press, c2007.

Researching and writing in the social sciences. Hult, Christine A. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1996.

Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement. Miller, Delbert C. 5th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage, 2002.

Basics of social research: qualitative and quantitative approaches. Neuman, William Lawrence. Boston, Allyn and Bacon, 2004.

Developing effective research proposals. Punch, Keith. London ; Thousand Oaks : SAGE, c2006.

Writing empirical research reports : a basic guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences. Pyrczak, Fred. 6th ed. Glendale, CA : Pyrczak Pub., c2007.

The SAGE Handbook of qualitative research. Edited by Norman K. Denzin, Yvonna S. Lincoln. Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c2005.

The SAGE handbook of online research methods, Nigel G. Fielding, Raymond M. Lee, and Grant Blank, eds. Los Angeles: Sage Publications, 2008.

Doing qualitative research: a practical handbook. Silverman, David. 2nd ed. London: SAGE, 2005.

Research methods in the social sciences. Smoekh, Bridget. London : SAGE, 2005

 A Practical guide to behavioral research: tools and techniques. Sommer, Robert. 5th ed. NY: Oxford Univ. Press, 2002.

Dictionary of statistics & methodology: a nontechnical guide for the social sciences.Vogt, W. Paul. 3rd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2005.

Inquiry by design: tools for environment-behavior research. Zeisel, John. Monterey, Calif.: Bros/Cole Pub. Co., c1980. Series title: The Bros/Cole basic concepts in environment and behavior series.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.