Skip to main content

ESPM 24: Issues in Natural Resources Conservation: Specialized Databases

Intro

Start Your Search does not include all library resources, and sometimes searching a smaller, specialized database can be easier and more effective. For example, specialized databases often include advanced searching features and tools for limiting and sorting your results in ways not possible in Start Your Search. Listed on this page are specialized databases for Natural Resources. Use them to find journal articles, news articles, reports, and more. 

Databases for Natural Resources - Find Journal Articles and More

Note: Much (but not all) of the content from BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts, Environment Complete, GreenFILE, and Wildlife and Ecology should come up in Start Your Search. 

Where's the PDF?

Once you've searched a database to find articles, use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a general rule is: when you see  (UC-eLinks icon), click on it to view your article access options, which can range from online full text, to a call number, to an Interlibrary Loan request:

UC e-Links image

For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley

The Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) assists UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff request books, articles and other materials not available (e.g. the material is in-use, in process, missing, at the bindery, not owned) at UC Berkeley using Melvyl and other IBS tools

Environment & Natural Resource News

Natural Resources: California and U.S. Government Reports and Documents

Finding Reports and Information from Government, IGOs, NGOs, and Think Tanks

Government Information

Other librarians at UCB have created these helpful Guides to Finding Government Information.

 

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) Information 

Custom Google Search:Use the following search box to search across hundreds of IGO websites

 

 

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) Information

Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of NGO sites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from curated lists.

 

Search Think Tanks and Research Centers

Link to a Google Custom Search of more than 590 think tanks and research centers.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.