What’s Your Evidence? Using Science to Strengthen Programs and Practice
The gap between social work practice and social science research is immense. Research is often conducted on populations that may not be representative of the populations or social contexts served by social work. Likewise, social work practice methods may be founded on well intended practice wisdom that is not supported by research.This continuing education course seeks to begin to close the research-practice divide.
Finding Research Based Articles
The Berkeley Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases organized by subject and format (news, data, dissertations, etc.) Below are some of the core resources in this field.
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
This resource is proposed for cancellation due to budget reductions. The comment period is open through Friday, April 6. We invite you to submit comments via email to firstname.lastname@example.org or directly with your subject librarian.Indexes journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, and areas of service and social issues such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. [1965 - present]. Limited to a single simultaneous user. If this resource does not work, please try again later.
Indexes all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. The Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. The database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
MEDLINE and other journals in the field of medicine -- includes psychiatry, geriatrics, public health,etc.
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Track current and past legislation and discover relationships among the legislators within the U.S. Congress and every state's legislature. IMPORTANT: READ THE MORE LINK FOR IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION
Quorum allows you to track legislators social media posts, who legislators work with and on what topics/issues. It can also alert you when legislation moves forward. Quorum is available to Berkeley students, faculty and staff, and requires users to create a free account using their berkeley.edu email address. Limited to 20 simultaneous users. Browser ad blockers can interfere with access. If you experience this, open the site using an incognito window in Chrome.
This resource is proposed for cancellation due to budget reductions. The comment period is open through Friday, April 6. We invite you to submit comments via email to email@example.com or directly with your subject librarian.Information about psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Focuses primarily on unpublished tests and those that are not commercially available. Includes many of the actual test instruments.
Provides access to information about psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments including descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. The focus is primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available. Most (but not all) records include the actual test instrument.
Evidence Based Practice Resources
Evidence Based Practice, to quote Professor Gambrill, is "a new educational and practice paradigm for closing the gaps between research and practice to maximize opportunities to help clients and avoid harm.”
The Campbell Collaboration (Motto: What helps? What harms? On what evidence?) is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions.