Skip to main content
The Farrand Gift
Farrand bequeathed her large estate to the University of California, Berkeley, in 1955. Her gift included the Reef Point Gardens Library; her private and business papers and correspondence; her collection of plant specimens; prints and photographs; and, an endowment for landscape architecture library collections, as well as other endowments.
- Beatrix Farrand gift of books and funds for fellowships in landscape architecture. IN: University of California (System). Office of the President. Records: Numerical bound folders, 1929-1958. 1955-57.
- CU-5, Series 3, Box 26, Folder 24 (216-ARCH)
- [Correspondence between Beatrix Farrand and H. Leland Vaughan concerning the donation of her collection to the University of California at Berkeley Landscape Department], IN: Beatrix Jones Farrand Collection, 1866-1959. Student Drawings Collection, (ARCH 1998-3). H. Leland Vaughan, professor of landscape architecture at the University of California, Berkeley, from 1930 to 1969, and Chairman 1947 to 1969, pursuaded Farrand that her Reef Point Library comprised of rare books, historical documents, maps, prints, and plans would find an appreciative home in the Landscape Department.
- Environmental Design Archives ARCH 1955-2
- [Correspondence regarding Beatrix Farrand's gift of the Reef Point Gardens Herbarium to the Jepson Herbarium at the University of California, Berkeley]. 1955-1956. Includes 12 letters from Farrand, Prof. Herbert L. Mason, and George A. Pettit, Assistant to the UC President. Originals in the archives of the Jepson Herbarium.
- Vaughan, H.Leland, Library gift to California collection of Mrs. Farrand, IN: Landscape architecture, (47) October 1956, pp. 298+.
Books & Periodicals
The 2,700 books and periodicals from Farrand's Reef Point Gardens Library are housed in the Environmental Design Library as well as other campus libraries. There is no single definitive list of the titles from Farrand's library. In addition to using the resources below, you can search OskiCat using the Quick Search→search for reef point as Keyword(s)→limit the location to Environmental Design Library.
- Beatrix Farrand Reef Point Gardens Library Bibliography - A list of nearly 2,200 items currently held at UCB Libraries is available as an online spreadsheet. This bibliography includes items from Farrand's donation as well as items purportedly gifted by Farrand but not currently reflected in the library catalog (not part of existing holdings).
- Beatrix Farrand Library Collection, Author list: Beatrix Farrand Library Collection. [Bar Harbor, ME: B. Farrand, 1959?] "Morning room books. List No. 1" lists of 753 items, including books, photographs, and drawings.
- The Reef Point Collection at the University of California, by Michael M. Laurie. [Washington, DC]: Trustees for Harvard University, 1982.
- Report on the collections of Beatrix Jones Farrand at the University of California, Berkeley with notes on her life and work, researched by Barbara M. Pitschel. [Berkeley, CA]: B. Pitschel, 1987.
Drawings, Prints, & Documents
Environmental Design Archives
The unpublished (archival) materials from the Reef Point Gardens Library are housed here. Among these materials are Farrand's personal and professional papers, Reef Point papers, research records, and more than 150 prints, primarily 17th and 18th century engravings. Note that the former name for the Archives, Documents Collection, is cited in earlier publications about Beatrix Farrand.
The Reef Point Herbarium is housed in the UC Berkeley Jepson Herbarium. The herbarium comprises approximately 2,000 specimens of plants grown in the Reef Point gardens, and is accompanied by planting plans.