Skip to main content

Beatrix Farrand: A Bibliography of Her Life and Work : Researching Farrand

A selective bibliography of books, journal articles, and newspaper reports by and about Farrand.

Bibliographies

Specialized bibliographies can help you find publications on your topic. Also look for bibliographies in books as well as in journal and encyclopedia articles. To find additional bibliographies, search the Melvyl online catalog: subject = Landscape architecture--History--Bibliography or Landscape gardening--History--Bibliography.

Finding Articles

Journal Indexes

Use journal and newspaper indexes and databases to discover articles on Farrand not listed in this guide. Some online databases include the full text of the articles or the  icon which may lead you to the full text elsewhere. In many cases, however, you will need to locate the print journal in the Library's collections; search the Library's catalogs by the journal title in order to find the shelving location and call number for the journal. For UC or UCB Only titles, go to the Library's home pageeJournals.

See also  Landscape architecture periodical indexes (UC Berkeley, Library) An annotated list of journal article indexes for landscape architecture

Newspaper Indexes

In addition to the indexes listed here, some newspapers are available full text on the web; information regarding archives of older issues is sometimes available at these sites. See the Library's News Databases for a list of links to online full-text local and international newspapers, and other news media.

Local public libraries sometimes index local newspapers; for example, see the Maine News Index Online (Portland Public Library). Check the online directory of public libraries (Libweb) for libraries serving communities that are home to Farrand's projects.

Search Terms

Here is a selected list of subject terms which may be useful in searching the online catalog to discover additional materials on Farrand and her work. Check also for subheadings, such as BibliographiesDesign and ConstructionHistoryHandbooks, etc.

[place name]--Description and travel
[place name]--Guidebooks
[project name]< >project name example: Dumbarton Oaks[project name]--History
Campus planning--[place name]
Gardens--[place name]--Pictorial works
Gardens--Northeastern States--Pictorial works
Farrand, Beatrix
Gardens--[place name]
Landscape architects--Northeastern States
Landscape architects--United States--Biography
Landscape architecture--[place name]
Landscape architecture--[place name]--History
Landscape architecture--History
Women landscape architects

Finding Unpublished Materials (Archives)

Unpublished materials (also known as archival materials) pertaining to Farrand's life and work, such as correspondence, garden plans, etc., may reside in archives, historical societies, and local libraries. Most state libraries also maintain archival collections of public and other records. To locate materials in libraries not listed in the Melvyl catalog, use WorldCat - UC Only via OCLC FirstSearch or WorldCat.org.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.