Skip to main content

Marine & Freshwater Ecology: Start

includes Zoology & Natural History

Get Started

Use this guide to search selected library resources for books, ebooks, articles, conference proceedings, patents, properties, news, and tools. Current UCB faculty, students, staff and patrons in the library, have access to licensed resources. Bioscience Top Ten List. Contact us if you have difficulty finding or accessing library resources. Use the Recommend a title form for purchase suggestions.
Visit the Bioscience & Natural Resources Library web site for more resources.

Relevant Campus Libraries & Research Guides

Bioscience and Natural Resources Library
Earth Sciences & Map Library
Engineering Library
Collections in these libraries can be discovered by searching the OskiCat catalog.

Research Guides:
Biology & Geomorphology of Tropical Islands
Natural History & Zoology
ESPM 10
 

 

Wireless Access

On campus use: Airbears 2.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to licensed resources is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students.

Use the Proxy Server to access licensed resources after authenticating as a Berkeley student, faculty or staff member. You must configure your web browser. Proxy resources: Proxy Server FAQ. iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch setup instructions.

Virtual Private Network (VPN) will establish a "tunnel" to our campus network, allow access a broader variety of licensed resources.

Sample Search

Research and analyze a particular medical therapy and particular adverse event.

  • Write your research topic as a question, subject idea or thesis statement.
    Example: What are the adverse effects of water pollution?

     
  • List the main concepts.
    Example: food chain, death of fish / aquatic animals, diseases, destruction of ecosystem, Human Health problems,
     
  • List key words, phrases, synonyms, & alternative terms to search: - Be Creative.
    Example: water pollution, delta, drinking water, climate change, drought, plumbing, pipes, filtration, diagnosis, poisoning - humans and animals, threat to human heath, technology, equipment, age, pediatric, gender, injury, treatment, ocean pollution, freshwater pollution, remediation, repair
     
  • Remember to include other collections and disciplines:
    Bioscience
    Business
    Chemistry
    Engineering
    Environmental Design
    Public Policy
    Public Health

  • Sample searches:
    freshwater pollution and drinking water
    pollution and salmon
     

General links

Biodiversity Heritage Library: consortium of the world's largest natural history libraries, includes digitized content.

BiologyBrowser: free biological databases, identification keys, and more.

Understanding Evolution: project of the University of California Museum of Paleontology and the National Center for Science Education.

InterLibrary Loan & Services

UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff:
Interlibrary borrowing: obtain materials from other institutions; view My ILL Requests*

Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP): Borrow materials from Stanford and UT Austin. Check RLCP website for eligibility.

Baker Document Delivery is a fee based Document Delivery Service for UCB faculty, staff, graduate students, and UCOP staff with current UCB library cards. To use Baker you must have a Baker account (see below). 

Copyright information: UC Berkeley, UC system-wide

Non-UC Berkeley users and institutions:
Interlibrary lending of original material: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutional borrowers in the United States and Canada.

Photoduplication services: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutions and the general public.

Special Library Access document delivery services: provides access to the resources of the UC Berkeley Libraries for libraries, information centers, corporations, and other organizations on a subscriber basis.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.