Skip to main content

Fritz-Metcalf Photographs: Special Collection: Search Collection

About the Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection

Emanuel Fritz Redwood 4H Club Trestle Woodbridge Metcalf

The Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection is a group of about 9000 photographs relating primarily to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States. Subjects include logging operations, logging equipment, reforestation, forest research, fire protection, lumber mills, and the activities of the University of California's School of Forestry. The photographs were taken from 1906 to 1984 by Emanuel Fritz, Woodbridge Metcalf and others.
Copyright © 2011 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Data owner: Bioscience and Natural Resources Library.

Search Help

Keywords:

  • All entered search terms must be present
  • Place quotes around phrases (e.g., "logging camp") or exact subject headings (e.g., "Trees - Age - Notable")
  • To find photographs of a specific person, enter last name, first name
             Example: Fritz, Emanuel Case is unimportant
  • Alternate prefixes and suffixes of terms and phrases are searched automatically
             Example: Search 'burn' retrieves photographs with captions or subject headings containing burn, burned,
            burning, etc.

Year: Approximately 80% of the collection has assigned years. Range: 1906-1984.

  • Search for all dated photographs from a specific year, e.g., 1923
  • Search for all dated photographs from a decade by entering the first three digitS
             Example: Searching on 191 retrieves photographs dated from 1910-1919
  •  Note: It is not possible to search on other date ranges


Location: Click Choose to select from a list.
Note: Locations may also be mentioned in captions and subject headings, you can also search on locations in the Keywords field
          Locations include:

  • California counties
  • Institutions (e.g., University of California, Berkeley)
  • Locations associated with UC Berkeley (e.g., Strawberry Canyon)
  • National forests and parks (e.g., Yosemite)
  • States
  • Foreign countries

Photographer: Click the Choose link to select from a list. Approximately 50% of the collection has a known photographer.

Photograph number: Searches accession numbers.

Panorama: Check this box to limit your search to the approximately 400 images that have a panoramic aspect.

People: Select "yes" to limit your search to images of people, "no" to limit your search to images where people are not visible, or clear any selection to search both.

Copyright © 2011 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Data owner: Bioscience and Natural Resources Library.

Search

Use University of California,  Calisphere to search and view the Fritz-Metcalf collection

Older: Search the collection
.

Enter keywords or search terms in search box, see tabs for Photographers, Location, or Subjects.

Rights and Usage Information

All requests to reproduce, publish, quote from, or otherwise use collection materials must be submitted in writing to the Head of Life & Health Sciences Division, The University Library, University of California, Berkeley 94720-6500. Consent is given on behalf of The Bioscience & Natural Resources Library as the owner of the physical items and does not constitute permission from the copyright owner. Such permission must be obtained from the copyright owner. See: http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/fritz-metcalf/use_of_images. Some materials in these collections may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). In addition, the reproduction of some materials may be restricted by terms of University of California gift or purchase agreements, donor restrictions, privacy and publicity rights, licensing and trademarks. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of copyright owners. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owner. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.