The Foundation Directory Online provides access to the largest list available of funding sources for non-profits -- timely, comprehensive information on grant providers. Includes U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. sources.
Pivot (formerly COS) is a for-fee database of funding opportunities and profiles of researchers. Berkeley subscribes through the Sponsored Projects Office the database has been pre-populated for faculty and some graduate students. If you set up an account, you will be able to log in from any location, and you will have access to the tools for managing searches and opportunities including the ability to set up automatic alerts.
UC Berkeley OURS National Scholarships Office facilitates the institutional endorsement process for nationally competitive scholarships and fellowships. They provide advising and support to UC Berkeley students pursuing these opportunities and other select programs.
The Berkeley Research Impact Initiative (BRII) provides funding to Berkeley authors (current faculty members, post-docs, graduate students, researchers) and publishers (Centers, Organized Research Units, and Departments) to make their publications free to all readers immediately upon publication.
UC Berkeley's Sponsored Projects Office provides an array of services, including a list of funding resources and subscriptions to Pivot
Charlene Liebau Library Prize for Undergraduate Research: $750 lower division, $1,000 upper division -- up to six awards. Applications due Dec-April.
UC Berkeley's Graduate Fellowships and Awards Office handles over 600 fellowship funds, each with unique criteria and terms for awarding.
Kids First --David L. Kirp Prize rewards students engaged in new or ongoing work that demonstrates a commitment, whether in education or other domains, to creating a better future for children and youth. The award of $2,500 is given to one UC Berkeley undergraduate student each year.
The Latinx Center of Excellence, UCB Includes funding to support Latinx students' education and training in social work practice with Latinx communities.
Federal Student Aid - Resources from the U.S. Department of Education.
Some professional organizations have their own search engines for finding funding. Some that might be relevant:
Fundraising for Social Change by
The bible of grassroots fundraising, updated with the latest tools and methods Fundraising for Social Change is the preeminent guide to securing funding, with a specific focus on progressive nonprofit organizations with budgets under $5 million. Used by nonprofits nationally and internationally, this book provides a soup-to-nuts prescription for building, maintaining, and expanding an individual donor program. Author Kim Klein is a recognized authority on all aspects of fundraising, and this book distills her decades of expertise into fundraising strategies that work. This updated seventh edition includes new information on the impact of generational change, using social media effectively, multi-channel fundraising, and more, including expanded discussion on retaining donors and on legacy giving. Widely considered the 'bible of grassroots fundraising,' this practically-grounded guide is an invaluable resource for anyone who has to raise money for important causes. A strong, sustainable fundraising strategy must possess certain characteristics. You need people who are willing to ask and realistic goals. You need to gather data and use it to improve results, and you need to translate your ideas in to language donors will understand. A robust individual donor program creates stable and long-term cash flow, and this book shows you how to structure your fundraising appropriately no matter how tight your initial budget. Develop and maintain a large base of individual donors Utilize strategies that pay off sooner rather than later Expand your reach and get your message out to the donor pool Translate traditional fundraising methods into strategies that work for social justice organizations with little or no front money Basing your fundraising strategy on the contributions of individual donors may feel like herding cats'but it's the best way for your organization to maintain maximum freedom to pursue the mission that matters. A robust, organized, planned approach can help you reach your goals sooner, and Fundraising for Social Change is the field guide for putting it all together to make big things happen.
Nonprofit Fundraising 101 by
Raise more money for your cause! Based on expert advice and insights from a variety of respected industry experts, Nonprofit Fundraising 101 is an essential text for nonprofit professionals, volunteers, activists, and social entrepreneurs who want to leverage best practices to promote their cause. Built upon the success of the best-selling Nonprofit Management 101, this easy to digest book provides practical, comprehensive guidance for nonprofit fundraising around the globe. With tips and tools, expert advice, and real-world insights from almost fifty industry leaders, this robust resource addresses the entire spectrum of fundraising for nonprofits, including: Planning, hiring, and tracking progress Individual donors, major gifts, events, and direct mail Board and volunteer engagement Foundation and government grants Corporate partnerships Online and email fundraising Social media and mobile crowdfunding Earned income and social enterprise Written by and for front line practitioners and geared towards a global audience of emerging and established leaders, this field guide offers step-by-step formulas for success. Nonprofit Fundraising 101 features a foreword by fundraising guru and Soul of Money author Lynne Twist, insights from notable non-profit professionals such as CNN's Van Jones, and an afterword by Kiva.org Co-Founder & President Premal Shah. This book also provides indispensible ideas and diverse case studies ranging from grassroots efforts to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, and advice for organizations of all sizes and focus. Chapters are brief and easily digestible, featuring extensive resources for additional learning, concrete best practices, and pitfalls to avoid. Enjoy this must-read manual to learn tried and true ways to raise more money for your cause, nonprofit, or charity.
Financial Sustainability for Nonprofit Organizations by
Nonprofit organizations face fierce competition for funding, especially during times of financial crisis. In order to effectively further their goals and make a long-term impact in the communities they serve, these organizations must remain financially viable and sustainable. This book equips students training to become better nonprofit leaders with the information and conceptual frameworks needed to ensure their organizations are financially sustainable. Using practical tips and illustrative case examples, it guides the reader to an understanding of the structures and processes of nonprofit organizations, and includes detailed coverage of financial analysis, budget management, cash flow, financial accountability and reporting, investing, fundraising, and organizational growth. This book is ideal for students, faculty, and practitioners in social service administration, human service leadership, public and community health, public administration, organization management, and health care administration and management.
Grant Writing for Dummies by
Learn to: Navigate federal grant databases and apply online for grants Find the most current public and private sector grant opportunities Create strong statements of need Submit applications that meet funders' expectations Your comprehensive guide to finding and winning grant monies Grant writing can be quite daunting, but this complete guide provides you with everything you need to get started with your application right away! Use this resource, including new and updated material, to move through the entire grant-writing process and apply for some of the billions of dollars available from public and private sector sources. Grant writing 101 - get an easy-to-understand introduction to the ins and outs of grants, including who funds them and how to receive them Know what funders want - discover the many grant-making organizations throughout the world and how to tailor your message to what your prospects expect Tug on reviewers' heartstrings - find out how to tell your story so peer reviewers award your application the maximum number of points The write stuff - explore writing techniques to create powerful, successful applications and proposals that convey your need for grant funding Go online and find templates for request letters, executive summaries, logic models, budget summary tables, and more Open the book and find: How to connect with grant-making agencies What goes into a grant submission How to build a great funding plan An overview of the peer review process A helpful checklist to make sure all the pieces are in place How to navigate federal grant websites Compelling words to use in applications Advice on requesting matching funds and other items
Donor Cultivation and the Donor Lifecycle Map by
A fresh look at fundraising that depends upon the donor lifecycle, resulting in increased financial resources over time and a more stable bottom line for nonprofits A guide to better and more strategic fundraising, Donor Cultivation and the Donor Life Cycle Map presents the donor lifecycle map, which is circular in form, revealing how the convergence of the two subject matters-cultivation and the lifecycle map-can lead to better and more strategic fundraising. Author Deborah Kaplan Polivy specifically addresses the topic of cultivation and how, when focused over the donor lifecycle, it can become a logical and focused activity for obtaining increasingly large gifts. Step-by-step guidance and practical tools for understanding and making the most of the donor lifecycle Coverage includes Introduction to Donor Cultivation, Defining Donor Cultivation, Donor Cultivation Tools and the Donor Lifecycle: How and Where They Intersect, and Impediments to the Implementation Process Features a companion website with a variety of online tools to help readers implement key concepts Part of the Wiley Nonprofit Authority Series Donor Cultivation and the Donor Life Cycle Map seeks to change the perspective from transactional fundraising to recurring fundraising, beginning with the first donation and extending to the very last-an endowment that keeps on giving even after death.
The Grant Writing Guide by
A practical guide to effective grant writing for researchers at all stages of their academic careers Grant funding can be a major determinant of promotion and tenure at colleges and universities, yet many scholars receive no training in the crucial skill of grant writing. The Grant Writing Guide is an essential handbook for writing research grants, providing actionable strategies for professionals in every phase of their careers, from PhD students to seasoned researchers. This easy-to-use guide features writing samples, examples of how researchers use skills, helpful tips, and exercises. Drawing on interviews with scores of grant writers, program officers, researchers, administrators, and writers, it lays out best practices, common questions, and pitfalls to avoid. Betty Lai focuses on skills that are universal to all grant writers, not just specific skills for one type of grant or funder. She explains how to craft phenomenal pitches and align them with your values, structure timelines and drafts, communicate clearly in prose and images, solicit feedback to strengthen your proposals, and much more. Ideal for course use, The Grant Writing Guide is an indispensable road map to writing fundable grants. This incisive book walks you through every step along the way, from generating ideas to finding the right funder, determining which grants help you create the career you want, and writing in a way that excites reviewers and funders.