Skip to main content
Spanish and Mexican Sources
Archivo de Lucas Alamán
Collection of more than 300 documents dealing with colonial Mexico from the 17th and 18th centuries and 19th century correspondence. [Spanish]
The Bexar Archives are the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahulia y Texas. English translations are available for many documents.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
Historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
InfoJUS - Legislación Local
A selection of state legislation
First six volumes of the classic printed collection of Mexican legislation covering 1687 to 1866
Digitized versions of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts
Mexican and Central American Political and Social Ephemera
This collection focuses on the ephemera printed in Mexico and Central America between 1980 and 1991.
Mexican Chamber of Deputies - Leyes y Poderes Estatales
The Mexican states and the Federal District are now posting a good deal of legislation on their websites.
Mexican Political Pamphlets
Information on more than 10,000 pamphlets; digitized images of over 1,000
Mexican Presidential Messages
Collection of presidential messages from the 19th through 20th centuries
Papers of Agustín de Iturbide, 1799–1880
This collection contains personal and official papers, his military diary, accounts of his Mexican properties and official papers of his tenure as Emperor (1822-1823)
Zapatistas! Documents of the New Mexican Revolution
!Zapatistas! contains the full, English language text of every communique published (along with several that were not published, as well as many interviews, letters, and essays) from the Zapatista National Liberation Army (EZLN) from December 31, 1994 through June 12, 1994.
Sources from other countries
Bracero History Archive
More than 2,500 items including oral histories and photographs pertaining to the mid-20th century Mexican guest worker initiative
Mexican-American War and the Media
Transcriptions of more than 5,000 articles dealing with the Mexican-American war of 1846-48 from the Times of London plus four American newspapers
Collection of 30 declassified US government documents on the 1968 massacre of student demonstrators
National and Regional Archives and Libraries