The archive collection entitled “Negros y Esclavos” that forms part of the documentary assets of the ‘Archivo General de la Nación’ contains extensive and very important testimonial information about the development of the African slave trade in the ‘Neogranadino’ territory. The collection is composed of 55 files, equivalent to approximately 55,000 sheets of paper, that refer not only to the history of Colombia, but also that of Ecuador, Panama and Venezuela.
A searchable database of references to over 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world. It includes most known print and digital materials published since 1900 covering historical and modern times.
It includes most known print and digital materials published since 1900 covering historical and modern times.
This work is included in the online database The Making of the Modern World. A complete set of the documents is available on microfilm and can be requested through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Includes digitized ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and Afro-descended peoples in the Americas. While most of the documents contained here belong to the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, there are also Cuban and Spanish Florida documents from the sixteenth century and Brazilian documents from the seventeenth.
Collection of manuscript materials documenting American slavery and the slave trade in the Atlantic world. Including diaries, account books, letter books, shipsâ€™ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions.