Skip to main content
Civil War on the Western Border: The Missouri-Kansas Conflict, 1855-1865
A collection of letters, photographs, and diary entries that document the Kansas-Missouri border war.
"Thousands of images, documents, video, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains from the late 1800s to today."
Pioneering the Upper Midwest: Books from Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin, 1820-1910
Portrays the states of Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin from the seventeenth to the early twentieth century through first-person accounts, biographies, promotional literature, local histories, ethnographic and antiquarian texts, colonial archival documents, and other works drawn from the Library of Congress.
Upper Mississippi Valley Digital Image Archive
Online visual collection of historical images showcasing the Mississippi River region along the Iowa/Illinois border.
Iowa Digital Library
More than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners. Included are illuminated manuscripts, historic maps, fine art, historic newspapers, scholarly works, and more.
Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
An online repository of Iowa history and culture that brings together digital resources of Iowa libraries, museums, historical societies and other cultural institutions
State Historical Society of Iowa Digital Resources
Digitized Historical Society materials hosted at partner sites.
Duluth Lynchings Online Resources
Primary source materials relating to the 1920 lynching of three young black men in Duluth, Minnesota
Minnesota Historical Society Collections Online
Provides access to numerous materials including photographs, artifacts, historical records, maps and atlases, oral histories, art, paintings, sound recordings and much more.
Minnesota Immigrant Oral Histories
A collection of over 360 oral history interviews conducted between 1967 and 2012 with recent immigrants to Minnesota and their American-born children
The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations.
Gilded Age Plains City: The Great Sheedy Murder Trial and the Booster Ethos of Lincoln, Nebraska
Collection of over 450 documents, newspaper articles, photographs, and more illustrating the history of the 1891 murder
Collection of photographs, documents, maps, and other material documenting Nebraska history
Nebraska State Historical Society Virtual Exhibits
Materials from the Historical Society, digitized and organized into online exhibits.
Nebraska Western Trails
Includes artifacts, books, documents, maps, postcards, original paintings, and photographs on a variety of topics relating to trails in Nebraska.