Skip to main content

Image Sources for the Built Environment: Search collections of images

The design and study of buildings, landscapes, and cities depends on visual information in the form of images such as photographs, drawings, diagrams, maps, and paintings.

Image Collections

This place of images contains all the places where images wind up after they have been created and/or published and consumed. Often these places become a site for consumption as well, because they are a useful place to encounter images outside of the structure of publication formats. These places include Archives, Visual Resource collections, Museums, Stock Photography Houses, enthusiast websites, image sharing websites, and the open web.

Archives hold original visual documents, including, but not limited to, photographs, maps, drawings, and plans. Archives organize their material by Collections, which are groups of documents that belonged to or were created by a person or organization. Therefore, images are usually indexed along with many other kinds of textual and non-visual records.

Visual Resources Collections are image libraries created to support teaching in educational institutions. They almost always hold reproductions (copies) of images for use in research and teaching, although some also have original images. These images—digital, photographs, and slides-- come from many different sources, including all the kinds of sources listed on this page.

Museums generally hold collections of objects and art work for which they produce different kinds of imagery. Many museum websites publish and display images, some may act as image vendors, selling or depositing their images in image databases or with Stock Photography Houses.

Photography Agencies and Stock Photography Houses are commercial enterprises that exist to sell images for publication. They frequently own large collections of historic photographs. They may be narrow in scope or may regularly produce new images. Some allow their images to be searched in other image databases. They may or may not be easy to search; almost all charge significant fees to obtain images.

Enthusiast websites are websites where anyone with interest or desire publishes images, usually arranged thematically. Basically, these are any websites that focus on displaying images, often regardless of source or legality. Many re-publish images that they have found elsewhere on the web or that they have digitized themselves. These types of websites can be found by search engines when searched for by a topic name. Many of the images on these pages can be found with an image search engine. Some are more reliable than others but be careful about accuracy and proper copyright when using them.

A few select examples:

Image sharing websites are websites where users upload photographs and can search for images other users have added. Many users also upload quantities of scanned material and submit their photographs to groupings of similar images. Some are more reliable than others but be careful about accuracy and proper copyright when using them.

The open web is search-able with Internet search engines. Some provide image-specific searching options. Search engine image searches only find a small fraction of imagery available online. Most images found through a search-engine image search will be lacking in quality, variety, authoritativeness, and applicability. But images found using these search engines may lead you to more in-depth sites which may prove to be of use.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.