Skip to main content

Molecular and Cell Biology: Citations

How to find articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, protocols, data and citation management tools, and other resources in Molecular and Cell Biology.

Citation managers

Reference managers (also called citation managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

Wikipedia comparison of reference management software

RefWorks

  • RefWorks guide
  • Free to UC Berkeley users; unlimited storage
  • Web-based: use at any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Google Docs and MS Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free desktop program with browser connector; 300 MB storage
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in MS Word and Apache OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Mendeley

  • Mendeley guide
  • Free software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux; 100 GB web storage for UC Berkeley Institutional Group members
  • Format bibliographies in MS Word or Apache OpenOffice
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

EndNote

  • EndNote guide
  • Discounted to UC Berkeley users
  • Desktop-based software (plus EndNote Web)
  • Format bibliographies in MS Word or Apache OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users
  • See our EndNote Support page for tutorials and additional information

Papers

  • Papers guide
  • Software/web hybrid for Mac and Windows
  • Format bibliographies in MS Word and Pages
  • Automatically import PDFs together with citation
  • Search, highlight and annotate PDFs

Your Librarian

Elliott Smith's picture
Elliott Smith
Contact:
Bioscience & Natural Resources Library
esmith@library.berkeley.edu
643-6482
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.