Skip to main content

Hargrove Music Library Archives: Home

Welcome!

Hargrove Music Library Archives documents and raises awareness of the significant musical heritage of Northern California and beyond, by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of organizations and the papers of composers, performers, and scholars of music, as well as other distinguished participants. 

Collections may contain musical compositions, sketches, sound recordings, photographs, personal papers or organizational records such as correspondence, artifacts and other materials. Featured among the more than 125 collections is the work of many associated with the University of California, Berkeley. 

Hargrove Music Library Archives maintains this primary source material for scholarly research, teaching, preservation, and public service, and encourages use of its collections.

 

Email
     music_reference@berkeley.edu 

 

Telephone
     510-642-2623

Address
     Hargrove Music Library Archives 
     University of California 
     Berkeley, California 94720-6000
Staff
     John Shepard, Curator
     Manuel Erviti, Archivist 
     Matthew Weber, Assistant Archivist
   

Hours By Appointment Only
     Academic year—Monday through Friday, 10am to noon and 1pm to 4pm
     Interim periods—Monday through Friday, 1pm to 4pm

Getting Copies / Reproductions

Hargrove Music Library Archives works to safeguard the condition of materials and to respect the wishes and the interests of the creators and donors. Wishing to further scholarship and teaching, as well as to publicize our collections, we also work with readers to find ways to make research copies of archival materials. Currently available options include:

  • Bring your digital camera with you to the Library. Hand-held personal digital cameras may be used to make copies of archival materials for research use only. If you cannot visit in person, consider hiring a local researcher or student to do this on your behalf. 
  • Request a low-resolution image (PDF) of up to 10 pages. This complimentary service is limited to one request per person per calendar year.  Submit inquiries via email and include a complete description of the item and collection.
  • If you are in need of higher resolution scans for publication or are interested in a microfilm copy of larger amounts of material, please contact archival staff with a complete description of the item and collection. 

Reproductions may not be made for, or donated to, other repositories. Reference images of materials made from materials in our collection may not be used for publication or use on a website without permission. 

Each item to be scanned is evaluated by staff on the basis of:

  • Physical condition or size—some items are too fragile to scan without endangering the originals; some scores are too large for our equipment.
  • Restrictions set by donors—some collections have restrictions against reproduction or publication.
  • Copyright issues—copyright may rest in the hands of the author or his or her heirs.  Please note that it is the sole responsibility of the user of such materials to investigate the copyright status of any given work and to seek and obtain permission where needed prior to any distribution or publication.

Getting Access / Using the Collections

Collections are open to all members of the University of California community, as well as independent researchers and the general public. Access to collections may be subject to restrictions defined by federal and state law, University of California, Berkeley administrative policies, gift and bequest agreements, and Music Library preservation requirements. Collections governed by specific restrictions or not available for immediate use are noted in the Finding Aid describing the individual collection, available at the Online Archive of California, as well as in the collection record in the University’s library catalog, OskiCat. Access to our collections is provided in accordance with stated Conditions of Use, which are intended to ensure that readers and researchers can find and treat materials with care in order to avoid loss or damage.

Contact Us First

Hargrove Music Library Archives contains rare and unique primary source documents and its collections do not circulate. Collections are stored offsite at the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF) and advance notice is required for use. Materials are made available for use at the Hargrove Music Library only and access, because of limited staff and shipping delays necessitated by off site storage of materials, is by appointment only.  Finding aids describing the collections, available at the Online Archive of California, should be used to identify an archives collection and box(s) of material desired. Please submit your request to examine material to Hargrove Music Library staff by email four days prior to your visit. This will enable staff to page containers stored at NRLF and have them ready in time for your visit. You may place materials on hold to use on subsequent days, as needed. Because of space limitations there is currently a request limit of three containers at a time per researcher. 

If Visiting, Register When You Arrive  

All researchers/readers must be registered with the UC Berkeley Library in order to use the collections.  For UC Berkeley faculty, students, staff, and affiliates a current UC Berkeley photo identification (Cal ID) is all that is required. Visitors should bring a current government or academic-issued photo ID and obtain a signed registration form from Archives staff when they arrive. Visiting researchers will need to take the temporary registration form to the Privileges Desk at Doe Library—a five-minute walk from the Music Library—in order to be entered into the system and complete registration.  

Reference / Questions

Archives staff are happy to answer reference queries concerning materials unique to our collections and assist in determining which materials are appropriate for specific research projects. If a remote inquiry exceeds the scope of the reference service that the staff is able to provide and still maintain essential services to students, faculty, and staff of the University of California—i.e., if we determine that answering your question will take more than 30 minutes of staff time—we will ask you to consider contacting an independent researcher in the San Francisco Bay area who can arrange to consult the collections for you on site. Reference inquiries are welcome in person, by telephone, and by email.

    Stop by the Music Library Reference Desk during open hours
    Send a written inquiry to music_reference@berkeley.edu
    Call 510-642-2623 (answered during Music Library hours—this number does not have voice mail)

Email is the best way to reach us if you are not onsite in Berkeley. 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.