Skip to main content
- UC Berkeley: The Library owns a collection of early readers and primers donated by Berkeley alum Jack Graves). Go to OskiCat and search keyword: jack graves early reader collection.
- Stanford University: Cubberley Education Library houses a collection of historical textbooks.
- California State Library: Search the CSL catalog under [Series]: California State Series
- Harvard Graduate School of Education: Gutman Library also maintains a Historical Textbooks Collection.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL): textbook collection includes U.S. imprints of primary and secondary schoolbooks, textbooks for post-high school non-degree schools such as business and trade schools, and foreign language grammars and readers through college level. The publication dates range from the 18th century, although most holdings were published in the 20th century. This collection was formed by deposits from member libraries and is maintained through retrospective deposits. There are 70,000 volumes in the collection occupying 8,000 linear feet of shelf space.
- Search the CRL Catalog by topic and then limit the results by [Location: Textbooks]
- University of Cincinnati: K-12 Textbooks: Current and Historical: includes information collection of more than 2,000 textbooks from the early 19th century to the turn of the 21st century.
Internet Archive (Readers - primary)
Also browse Primers (Instructional books), Textbooks, etc.
19th Century Schoolbooks
Contains 141 schoolbooks from the Nietz Old Textbook Collection. Founded by Dr. John Nietz, this collection is a survey of historic American schoolbooks in the context of the history of education.
Looking Glass for the Mind
Digital exhibit of children's books from the University of Washington. Includes samples of Grammars, Primers, Readers, science books and more.
Some useful subject headings to use in OskiCat and Melvyl
- Textbooks -- United States
- Textbooks -- United States -- 19th Century
- Textbooks -- United States -- 20th Century
- Textbooks -- United States -- Bibliography