Library Guides: Optometry: Articles

Search for Articles by Topic

OPTOMETRY AND BIOMEDICAL DATABASES

PubMed

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

PubMed: Search Tips
PubMed Collection: Inequity in Vision Health and Health Care
A curated collection of articles in PubMed. Many are freely available online.

Additional biomedical databases

Embase This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.

BIOLOGY AND NEUROSCIENCE

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.

PSYCHOLOGY AND COGNITIVE SCIENCE

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

GENERAL SCIENCE

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

MORE DATABASES

More Optometry Databases;
More Vision Science Databases;
All UCB Databases, A-Z (1,468 as of July 18, 2023).

Search Operators and Tips

Search Tips

Database Exercises

COVID-19 Databases

Cochrane COVID-19 Study Register
"The Cochrane COVID-19 Study Register is a freely-available, continually-updated, annotated reference collection of human studies* on COVID-19, including interventional, observational, diagnostic, prognostic, epidemiological, qualitative and economic designs."
COVID-evidence Database
"COVID-evidence is a continuously updated We provide information about worldwide planned, ongoing, and completed trials on any intervention to treat or prevent SARS-CoV-2-infections." The database must be downloaded before it can be used.
Homeland Security Digital Library COVID-19 Resource Archive
The resource archive includes Federal, State, and Local Policy and Strategy Documents; Congressional Hearings and Legislation; CRS Reports & Issue Briefs and more. Search the collection or browse by topic: Public Health, Prevention, Preparedness, Response, Recovery, Global Health, and National Security.
LitCovid
A curated database of PubMed articles that tracks the latest scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. One can quickly search by General, Mechanism, Transmission, Diagnosis, Treatment, Prevention, Case Report, and Forecasting.
WHO COVID-19 Global Literature on Coronavirus Disease
"The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles."

Find the PDF Copy of an Article

In the database search results, click the button to check for an online copy of the article.

Or, search by article title in UC Library Search; if it is available online, there will be a link to access it.