Skip to main content

Photography: A Quick Guide to Resources: Finding Books

This is a quick guide to selected basic resources for the study of photography focusing on English language materials in the UC Berkeley libraries.

Search Terms

These terms may also be useful as keywords or subject words when searching the library catalogs for books or the databases for periodical articles.

  • Use the name of a photographer as subject or author when searching for books on an individual, e.g., subject: Adams, Ansel or author: Adams, Ansel.
Applied photography
Architectural photography
Commercial photography

Documentary photography
Fashion photography
Landscape photography

Photographers
Photographic criticism
Photography, Abstract
Photography, Artistic
--19th century
--20th century
--21st century

Photography, Artistic-[name of state or country]
Photography, Artistic--Archives
Photography, Artistic--Bibliography
Photography, Artistic Catalogs
Photography, Artistic Exhibitions
Photography, Artistic--Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Photography, Artistic--History
Photography, Artistic--History--19th century
Photography, Artistic--History--20th century
Photography, Artistic--Philosophy
Photography, Artistic--Social aspects
Photography, Artistic--Study and teaching
Photography, Artistic--Themes, motives.

Photography--Digital techniques.
Photography--Equipment and supplies
Photography--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Photography--History.
Photography--Influence--20th century

Photography--Processing
Photography--Social aspects

Photojournalism

Browsing the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks, TR is the Library of Congress classification for photography and the beginning of the call number for most photography books.

  • Be aware that you may miss important photography books if browsing is your only technique. Many books are stored off campus, or checked out, and additional books of photography on a specific subject will be classed in a different classification. And, a growing number of photography books have become rare and are stored in a special rare book collection, so be sure to check the library catalogs for a complete listing.
TR1 Periodicals
TR6 Exhibitions, museums, General works by country
TR9 Dictionaries, encyclopedias
TR15 History, general
TR21-TR127 By country

TR139-TR140 Biography
TR144 Early works to 1850
TR145 Works 1850-
TR146-TR151 Handbooks, manuals
TR161 Study and teaching
TR179 Composition
TR199 Catalogs

TR250-TR265 Cameras
TR267 Digital photography
TR287-TR500 Processing, Darkroom techniques

TR510-TR545 Color photography
TR550-TR581 Studio & laboratory
TR590-TR620 Lighting

TR640-TR688 Artistic photography
TR645.A-TR645.Z by city
TR646.A-TR646.Z by country

TR647.A-TR647.Z Individual photographers
TR651 1800-1850
TR652 1851-1900
TR653 1901-1950
TR654 1951-2000
TR655 2001-

TR659 Architectural photography
TR660 Landscape photography
TR680-TR681 Portrait photography
TR820 Photojournalism & documentary
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.