Skip to main content

Psychology Research Guide: Quick Links

 http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/psychology

UC eLinks and Citation Linker

Sometimes the database you search doesn't link to the fulltext -- it only gives the citation. Click the UC e-links button to see if Berkeley has it online, and if not, it will check for a print version.  And if we don't have it at all, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.

What if there isn't a UC e-links button??? Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it's available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the item in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.

E-Books

Oxford Clinical Psychology Over 200 titles in a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities, including the Treatments That Work series.

Springer Electronic Book Package E-books in many fields including Social WorkSocial Policy and Psychology.

APA e-book collection Current e-books published by the American Psychological Association from 2009 to date.

ebrary Berkeley's largest e-book collection, with thousands of  titles on a wide range of subjects, including social work, education and psychology. Some advanced ebrary features require downloading reader software.

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection Fulltext books in social welfare and psychology from 2011.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Psychology

MIT CogNet E-books in cognitive and brain sciences published by MIT.

 

Find articles

The Berkeley Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases organized by subject and format (news, data, dissertations, etc.) Below are some of the core resources in this field.

Find Books

UCB: Use OskiCat to find books related to your topic at UC Berkeley. Oskicat will show you where it's located, and will also show you the Library of Congress Subject Heading -- which can help you find material other relevant books.

UC: Not enough books  at Berkeley? Use Melvyl to find more books at other campuses in the UC system.  Clickon the REQUEST button (in the detailed view of a catalog record) to request the item through  Interlibrary Loan.

World: Still want more? You can search thousands of libraries through WorldCat on FirstSearch and then request the material through UC e-links or directly via Interlibrary Borrowing

Google Books: Library catalogs don't search inside of books. Google Books can help you identify the book you need, then click on "Find in a Library" to see if we have it.


Book Reviews in psychology -- PsycCritiques

Reference

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Annual Reviews in Psychology

Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 2nd 

APA Handbook of Testing and Measurement in Psychology

Handbook of Psychology

Corsini Enclyclopedia of Psychology 

Dictionary of Psychology from Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Handbooks Online: Psychology

Sage Handbooks of Qualitative and Quantitative Research in Psychology

DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) Note: All earlier editions also available!

Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning (Educational Psychology)

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences provides scholarly overviews on various topics in psychology.

Annual Reviews in Psychology and Annual Reviews in Clinical Psychology are good starting places -- they provide literature reviews of important and emerging areas of research.

Handbook of Social Psychology (Wiley, 2006), Handbook of Social Psychology (Springer, 2013) and Handbook of Adolescent Health Psychology

Writing and Research Guides

Effective Writing in Psychology: Papers, Posters, and Presentations, 2nd Edition.

APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology
Vol. 1: Foundations, planning, measures and psychometrics
Vol. 2: Research designs: quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological and biological
Vol. 3: Data analysis and research publication

Sage Handbooks of Qualitative and Quantitative Research in Psychology

Psychology Headlines

Loading
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.