Skip to main content

Library Resources: PHW/PH 205 Program Planning, Development, and Evaluation: Find Articles & Evidence

PH 205: Program Planning, Development, and Evaluation. Tips & Tools to Help You

Start with PubMed

PubMed: Citations to journal articles on health and medical topics, with links to full text via

PubMed searching top tips:
  1. Combine terms with AND or OR
  2. Use Filters (eg, Ages, Article types, Languages, etc.)
  3. Search for your term as a word in the title or title or abstract (using Filters, Advanced Search, or Field Tags)
  4. Use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), with subheadings
  5. Use the Related Articles link, once you find a set of relevant citations
  6. Try PubMed's Clinical Queries or Topic-Specific Queries
  7. Always keep in mind the question you are trying to answer when creating a search strategy and when reviewing the articles you find

» PubMed Tips & Tricks: Basic search guide with link to PubMed exercise set. Start here to learn how to search PubMed more effectively

» Clinical Queries: Finding systematic reviews on your topic can help you find more research literature and give you a sense of the body of knowledge on a topic.
    Using the etiology filter is useful a "cause of disease" search.
    Therapy encompasses any type of intervention.

» Topic-Specific Queries use "canned" search strategies to fetch a citation subset of PubMed. Relevant topic-specific queries include:

  • Comparative Effectiveness
  • Health Disparities
  • Healthy People

Beyond PubMed: Other Resources for Finding Articles, Books, Evidence

access paid by UCB

Excellent sources of systematic reviews and other evidence-based public health evaluations:

Other Sources of Books, Articles, etc.

OskiCat: UCB library catalog
Use the "Available Online" limiter on the right to retrieve only online material from your search.
The library catalog will let you find books, reports, etc. on your topic.

Sociological Abstracts
Citations in demography, education, law, social psychology, and sociology. Sources include journals, books, conferences and meetings, and dissertations.
» Sociological Abstracts does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Search Tools then Thesaurus to browse for terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Cultural capital, peer relations, strategies, neighborhoods, social constructionism, ...

PsycINFO
Citations in psychology, behavior, and related disciplines; includes citations of journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters, reports and dissertations.
» PsycINFO does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Search Tools then Thesaurus to browse for terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Economic security, socioeconomic class attitudes, labeling, ...

Global Health
Citations in environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, zoonoses, and more. Sources include journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Significantly more international coverage than PubMed.
» Global Health does use a controlled vocabulary. Use the drop-down menu and select Descriptors then click to browse the thesaurus.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Search by (relatively narrow) geographic locations (ie, setting), or country in which work published.

Embase
Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in pharmaceutical and toxicological research, including economic evaluations. Useful for clinical medicine, genetics, biochemistry, molecular biology, microbiology, infectious diseases, healthcare policy & management, biomedical engineering & medical devices, and more. Embase is a primary resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. Includes abstracts of over 2,000 conferences.
» Embase does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Emtree above the search box to search or browse for terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Exceptional coverage of drug/toxicology topics, more European literature, sophisticated indexing scheme ("Emtree"'), ...

Web of Science
Large, multidisciplinary database; links to cited articles and times cited are provided for retrieved articles.
» Web of Science does not use a controlled vocabulary; it uses author keywords and keywords assigned algorithmically.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Scope of database is broad; best resources for cited reference searching.
» Cited Reference Searching exercise (Public Health Library)

See the Public Health Library's Online Indexes and Databases web page for dozens more databases useful for finding public health articles, books, book chapters, reports, and more.

Grey Literature

Grey Literature generally refers to publications not produced by commercial publishers, including reports (pre-prints, preliminary progress and advanced reports, technical reports, market research reports, etc.), theses, conference proceedings, and other documents. They are often produced by government entities, research institutions, or NGOs/IGOs.

  • The Public Health Library's Guides to Public Health Subjects consists of web pages by topic. Each page consists of annotated lists of organizations, agencies, databases, and publications. Topics include:
        • Environmental Health
        • Alcohol, Drug, and Tobacco
        • Food/Nutrition
        • Maternal and Child Health
    and many more.
  • The Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
  • Google and other search engines can be useful for finding grey literature. Improve your search using:
        • Quotes for phrase searching:
            "social marketing"
        • Site: to specify a particular site or domain:
            "social marketing" site:.org (for a domain search); "social marketing" site:cdcnpin.org (for a specific site search)
        • Boolean search statements (eg, OR):
            ("social marketing" OR "audience segmentation")
  • Find Dissertations and Theses, including the full text of most dissertations from 1996 to the present.
  • National Technical Reports Library (NTRL): over 2 million current and archived technical reports from many government agencies; over 600,000 available full text online.

Evidence-Based Public Health book

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.