Skip to main content

Library Resources: PHW/PH 205 Program Planning, Development, and Evaluation: Model Programs ("Best Practices")

PH 205: Program Planning, Development, and Evaluation. Tips & Tools to Help You

Model Programs ("Best Practices")

It worked there. Will it work here? (PDF): Tool for Assessing Applicability and Transferability of Evidence (when considering starting a new program). Canada: National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools, 2011.

Canadian Best Practices Portal
CBBP is a compendium of community interventions related to chronic disease prevention and health promotion that have been evaluated, shown to be successful, and have the potential to be adapted and replicated by other health practitioners working in similar fields.
Search for either Interventions/Best Practices, Resources, or by Topic (including Health equity) or Policy Issues.

Tools of Change ("Founded on the principles of community-based social marketing")
This site describes "proven methods for promoting health, safety, and environmental citizenship." It includes numerous evaluated case studies of public health programs, as well as tools on such program aspects as building motivation, overcoming barriers, norm appeals, and more. Also here tips on approaches, such as home visits, mass media, neighborhood coaches, etc.

Effective Interventions: HIV Prevention that Works
Resources for HIV prevention providers such as health departments and community-based organizations so as to provide the best evidence-based HIV prevention services.
This site provides summaries of the best types of practices for HIV prevention from the Diffusion of Effective Behavioral Interventions project (DEBI) project.

Interventions and Strategies (Center of Excellence for Training and Research Translation)
Search for interventions or intervention strategies by setting (school, worksite, etc.).
Each entry provides targeted outcomes, an evidence summary, and examples. The examples include core elements, resources required, potential public health impact, evaluation, technical assistance, and more.

Database of Best Practices (Community Tool Box)
A list of comprehensive web-based resources for exploring promising approaches to promote community health and development. Includes general resources, and topic-specific (chronic disease, violence, cancer, etc.) resources.

Model Practices Database (NACCHO)
Search by state or categories. Each record includes an overview of the program, contact information, web site, and an evaluation.

Programs that Work (Promising Practices Network)
Summaries of programs and practices that are proven to improve outcomes for children.
View programs by outcome area, indicator, topic, or evidence level.

A Tool for Rating Chronic Disease Prevention and Public Health Interventions (Prev Chronic Dis 2013;10:130173).
"The purpose of this article is to describe an approach to identify community-based programs and interventions that have the potential for replication and dissemination ... Such interventions met criteria in 3 primary domains: innovativeness, effectiveness, and sustainability. Funders, practitioners, and researchers can apply these criteria to identify programs, environmental changes, or policies that may be replicated and disseminated."

What Works for Health
From the County Health Rankings & Roadmaps website, here you can find examples of programs and policies that have been shown to be effective in addressing specific health factors and focus areas.
Focus areas include health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment. Can also search by Decision Makers, eg government officials, employers, community leaders, educators, etc. Each intervention includes citations of evidence and implementation, as well as impact on health disparities.

Health Equity Impact Assessment Tool (Ontario [Canada] Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care)
HEIA is a decision support tool which walks users through the steps of identifying how a program, policy or similar initiative will impact population groups in different ways. The end goal is to maximize positive impacts and reduce negative impacts that could potentially widen health disparities between population groups—in short, more equitable delivery of the program, service, policy etc.

Tools: Social determinants of health (WHO)
Assessment tools, training modules, and more.

Health Equity: 10 Promising Practices (Sudbury & District Health Unit, Ontario)
The Health Unit conducted a review and analysis of the literature for practices to reduce social inequities in health. These practices are relevant at the local public health level and are "promising" in their potential to "level-up" and reduce health inequities. This web page lists each practice, provides examples of the practice in action, implementation tips, references to relevant literature, and useful links.

See also the Public Health Library's Health Program Planning, Policy, and Evaluation Resources web guide

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.