Library Guides: OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 213 Global Health Ethics: Find Articles, Books & More

Useful Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

PubMed Bioethics Subset
A "canned" search of the Bioethics Subset of PubMed citations.

Embase This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses. [1912 - present]
Limited free full text is available for some hard-to-find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and research articles from smaller, society and non-English publishers. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, PhilPapers monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. This resource is the largest open access archive in philosophy.

Globethics.net
Access content in the field of applied ethics, particularly from the global south. Includes a Health Ethics Collection.
BELIT - Bioethics Literature Database
BELIT provides access to over 650,000 records from the integrated German, American and French databases. It is an extensive bibliographic directory of literature in the area of bioethics unique world wide, containing references to monographs, grey literature, legal documents, journal articles, newspaper articles and book contributions.