Skip to main content

Alumni Guide: Library Resources for Public Health Lifelong Learning, Research, Productivity, and More: Start

Welcome UC Berkeley School of Public Health Alumni!

 

 

Find free research literature and more for your lifelong public health learning and evidence-based professional practice.

This guide includes information on books, databases/articles, journals, grey literature, statistics and data, continuing education, citation management, productivity tools, keeping current with research, and more.

Visit the Library

The Sheldon Margen Public Health Library warmly welcomes Berkeley SPH Alumni.

Visit the Library for our print collections and for access to the vast majority of the online resources you used as a student by using our public computers.
Printing and free scanning services are available.

Before visiting, use OskiCat if you need to verify that a print publication is available here.

WiFi internet access at the Library

  CalVisitor: WiFi Internet access for library visitors.

However, CalVisitor does not grant access to licensed library resources; please use public computers at the UC Berkeley libraries instead.

Where (Geographically) Are You?

Is there a public college or university nearby?
You may be able to use licensed databases at their public computers and download articles to a flash drive. You are welcome to come to the UCB libraries and use licensed online resources. (Hours)
Register for lending privileges, if this service available. Example: Free UCSF borrower accounts are available to Bay Area health professionals and California teachers.

Use your public library
Most public libraries will obtain books and articles for you via interlibrary lending. There may be a fee for this service.
Your public library may belong to a consortium (such as Link +) that facilitates borrowing books from distant libraries.
Public libraries also license online databases and e-books. Your library card may allow remote access to these resources. Example: Articles and Databases, San Francisco Public Library includes JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Contemporary Women's Issues, Dissertations Abstracts, and other sources of research literature.

Will you be working in a low GNI (Gross National Income) country?
There are programs that bring online journal access, for example, to certain countries. See Research4Life under the Online Journals tab.
Some countries have a web portal to access licensed journals, databases, online books, and other resources. Example: Infomed, Red de Salud de Cuba.

More library service options

Learn about library card, borrowing, and other privileges for Berkeley alumni.

Visit our guide on freely available research literature for subject areas beyond Public Health.

The National Network of Libraries of Medicine provides health professionals and the general public with health information resources and services. Find an NN/LM member library near you.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.