Skip to main content
Biodefense and Emerging Infectious Diseases (Nat'l Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases)
Supports basic research to better understand viruses, bacteria, and other infectious agents that cause diseases of public health concern. Provides the foundation for developing medical products and strategies to diagnose, treat, and prevent a wide range of infectious diseases, whether those diseases emerge naturally or are deliberately introduced as an act of bioterrorism.
Provides information on identifying biohazards, emergency response, and specific agents such as anthrax, smallpox, etc.
Bioterrorism Act of 2002
Complete text of the Act, plus information on FDA's responsibilities.
Provides information for first reponders and the general public on preparation and response, fact sheets on specific agents, and training.
CDC Emergency Preparedness and Response
Find information here on anthrax, smallpox, radiological emergencies, and other biological and chemical agents, including agents, laboratory analysis, response and cleanup, and treatment. Includes information on preparation and response to natural disasters and severe weather as well.
Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management (CHEMM)
Provides a comprehensive website that is also downloadable in advance so that it is available offline if the Internet is down during an event. Designed for first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals.
FDA Counterterrorism and Emerging Threats
Includes information on public health initiatives and preparedness, vaccine, food supply safety, and more.
Federation of American Scientists
Works to reduce the number of nuclear weapons, prevent nuclear and radiological terrorism, promote high standards for nuclear energy’s safety and security, as well as prevent the use of biological and chemical weapons. Issue briefs and reports available.
Radiation Emergency Medical Management (DHHS)
Provides guidance for health care providers about clinical diagnosis and treatment of radiation injury during radiological and nuclear emergencies. Provides just-in-time, evidence-based information with sufficient background to make complex issues understandable to those without formal radiation medicine expertise. Provides information that is also downloadable in advance, so that it would be available during an emergency if the internet is not accessible.
Bioterrorism Preparedness (CDPH)
Links to hospital practice guidelines, factsheets for bioterrorism events, bioterrorism rapid response information, a radiation emergency medical management kit (REMM), a bioterrorism readiness plan for healthcare facilities, a primer for clinicians on explosions and blast injuries, and much more.