Skip to main content
You have many options when it comes to selecting a program to manage your citations; view the columns below and the tabs above for more information on specific citation managers.
All citation management programs let you:
- Add citations from databases like PubMed, Web of Science, etc.
- Organize your citations into folders or groups
- Add PDF files of articles to the references
- Format citations in Microsoft Word (and other document programs) to create bibliographies in any of 1000s of styles
- Share all or part of your database, with various degrees of permissions
Comparison of reference management software (Wikipedia): Comparisons of over 20 desktop-based and web-based tools. Includes information on integration with word processors, supported platforms, import/export capabilities, citation styles, and more.
EndNote is a client-based program, which means the software resides on your computer and is not accessible via the Internet. EndNote features include:
- The most comprehensive array of citation output styles
- Client software installed on your computer (can sync with a limited web-based version)
- Linking EndNote records to PDFs and other types of documents saved on your hard drive
- Can add figures and tables to your EndNote library
- Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of the article from within EndNote
- EndNote software must be purchased and installed onto your computer
- Can share your EndNote library with others
EndNote Knowledgebase, FAQs, and the Tutorials Library are the best places to start when you are learning EndNote or have problems.
For a comparison of the differences among the current EndNote version and earlier versions, see their comparison chart.
RefWorks is cloud-based and allows for easy collaboration. Access to RefWorks is provided by the UCB Library to UCB students, staff, and faculty. Once you are registered, log in at any computer with Internet access.
- New users should sign up for a New RefWorks account. This version works with Google Docs (in addition to Word)
- To use New RefWorks with Word 2016 (Mac), download these instructions (PDF)
- Legacy RefWorks is still available for users with older accounts.
- Full-text access to most articles is easy: UC-eLinks works inside RefWorks
- Good for collaborative projects: share a citation database (currently with Legacy RefWorks only)
- Easy to learn and use
- Offers thousands of output styles
- To use RefWorks from off-campus, log using the Proxy Server or VPN, or you can log in with the UC Berkeley Group Code (for Legacy RefWorks only; Requires CalNet ID authentication).
- Pop-ups must be allowed for RefWorks to function correctly. Make sure your browser allows pop-ups, and your Java is up to date.
Need more help? See the New RefWorks help guide. (or the Legacy RefWorks help guide).
Zotero, an open source (free) program, may be used in Chrome, Firefox, and Safari. Zotero 5.0, just released July 2017, includes substantial changes. Documentation is in the process of being updated. Zotero features include:
- Your Zotero library is save locally so if you want to use multiple computers you must set up the Zotero Sync Server and File Syncing on each computer you use to collect citations using Zotero.
- An Internet connection is not necessary to work with your Zotero library.
- Automatically capture citation information from web pages
- Capture citation data PDFs to create a database record in Zotero
- Store PDFs, files, images, links, and whole web pages for easy retrieval
- Works with LibreOffice (in addition to Word)
- Zotero has fewer citation output formats compared to RefWorks or EndNote
Need more help? See a Zotero guide and the Zotero support site.
Mendeley is a free citation manager and academic social network with web-based, desktop, and mobile versions. Works with Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, and BibTeX.
- Introduces social networking tools to collaborate with fellow researchers, including sharing lists of references and collaborative tagging of documents
- Add PDFs to your citation library
- Annotate PDFs
- Search within the text of all of your PDFs
- Sync your library across multiple devices
- UC Berkeley Mendeley users have access to Mendeley Institutional Edition if they have associated their berkeley.edu email addresses with their accounts and joined the official UCB Mendeley group. This gives UC Berkeley users 100GB personal library space, 100GB shared library space, 100 collaborators in private groups, and unlimited private groups
Mendeley Overview: the basics of downloading and using Mendeley. And for more help, see their help guides.
Also see a Mendeley guide.