Skip to main content

Manage Your Citations (EndNote, RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley): Home

Citation Managers

You have many options when it comes to selecting a program to manage your citations; view the columns below and the tabs above for more information on specific citation managers.
All citation management programs let you:

  • Add citations from databases like PubMed, Web of Science, etc.
  • Organize your citations into folders or groups
  • Add PDF files of articles to the references
  • Format citations in Microsoft Word (and other document programs) to create bibliographies in any of 1000s of styles
  • Share all or part of your database, with various degrees of permissions, and collaborate with others on documents

Comparison of reference management software (Wikipedia): Comparisons of about 30 desktop-based and web-based tools. Includes information on integration with word processors, supported platforms, import/export capabilities, citation styles, and more.

EndNote

EndNote is a client-based program, which means the software resides on your computer and is not accessible via the Internet. EndNote features include:

  • The most comprehensive array of citation output styles
  • Client software installed on your computer (can sync with a limited web-based version)
  • Linking EndNote records to PDFs and other types of documents saved on your hard drive
  • Can add figures and tables to your EndNote library
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of the article from within EndNote
  • EndNote software must be purchased and installed onto your computer
  • Can share your EndNote library with others

EndNote Support, and the EndNote Guide are the best places to start when you are learning EndNote or have problems.

For a comparison of the differences among the current EndNote version and earlier versions, see their comparison chart.

EndNote Basic, a free web-based version, limits the number of citations you can store, has a limited number of citation styles, and a limited number databases that it's compatible with. Purchasers of EndNote Desktop also get access to the full EndNote Online.
Discounted EndNote purchasing: UCB students, staff, and faculty should contact Debbie Jan for information on purchasing or upgrading EndNote at a significant discount. UC also occasionally offers discounted EndNote purchase or upgrade.

EndNote Training Calendar, from EndNote.com

RefWorks

RefWorks is cloud-based and allows for easy collaboration. Access to RefWorks is provided by the UCB Library to UCB students, staff, and faculty. Once you are registered, log in at any computer with Internet access.

  • Create a New RefWorks account.
  • The "New" RefWorks lets you cite in Google Docs (in addition to Word)
  • To use New RefWorks with Word 2016 (on a Mac), download these instructions (PDF)
  • Legacy RefWorks is still available for users with older accounts.
  • Cloud-based
  • Full-text access to most articles is easy: UC-eLinks works inside RefWorks
  • Good for collaborative projects: share a citation database
  • Easy to learn and use
  • Offers thousands of output styles 
  • To use RefWorks from off-campus, log using the Library Proxy or VPN.  (Legacy RefWorks only users can log in with the UC Berkeley Group Code; Requires CalNet ID authentication).
  • IMPORTANT: Currently (Fall 2019), RefWorks Cite in Microsft Word does not work with the free Office 365 version of Word offered by UC Berkeley. If you use this version of Word, you will need to use a different reference manager. Microsoft is aware and is working on a solution.
  • Pop-ups must be allowed for RefWorks to function correctly. Make sure your browser allows pop-ups, and your Java is up to date.
    Important: Download Java from this Apple site (the link above), not from java.com

Need more help? See the New RefWorks help guide. (or the Legacy RefWorks help guide).

Zotero

Zotero, an open source (free) program, may be used in Chrome, Firefox, and Safari. Zotero 5.0, just released July 2017, includes substantial changes. Documentation is in the process of being updated. Zotero features include:

  • Your Zotero library is save locally so if you want to use multiple computers you must set up the Zotero Sync Server and File Syncing on each computer you use to collect citations using Zotero.
  • An Internet connection is not necessary to work with your Zotero library.
  • Automatically capture citation information from web pages
  • Capture citation data PDFs to create a database record in Zotero
  • Store PDFs, files, images, links, and whole web pages for easy retrieval
  • Works with LibreOffice (in addition to Word)
  • Zotero now works with Google Docs
  • Zotero has fewer citation output formats compared to RefWorks or EndNote

Need more help? See a Zotero guide and the Zotero support site.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation manager and academic social network with web-based, desktop, and mobile versions. Works with Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, and BibTeX.

  • Introduces social networking tools to collaborate with fellow researchers, including sharing lists of references and collaborative tagging of documents
  • Add PDFs to your citation library
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Search within the text of all of your PDFs
  • Sync your library across multiple devices
  • UC Berkeley Mendeley users gain access to Mendeley Institutional Edition by accessing Mendeley via a UCB IP address. This gives UC Berkeley users 100GB personal library space, 100GB shared library space, 100 collaborators in private groups, and unlimited private groups. After leaving UC Berkeley, alumni will have access to Mendeley Institutional Edition for 12 months.

Mendeley Overview: the basics of downloading and using Mendeley. And for more help, see their help guides.

Also see a Mendeley guide.

Overleaf + ShareLaTeX

Overleaf + ShareLaTeX logo350

Overleaf and ShareLaTeX have merged into one platform: Overleaf v2. Read the launch announcement for more information. Overleaf is a free online collaborative LaTeX editor with integrated real-time preview. It offers hundreds of templates for arXiv, journal publishers, presentations, exams, dissertations, and more. A free account includes unlimited private projects, up to 1 collaborator, and direct submission to selected publishers.

The Library has licensed Overleaf for campus as part of a 3-year pilot to provide access to premium features. Sign up with your Berkeley email address to get access to a professional account, which provides unlimited collaborators, real-time track changes, full document history, Mendeley integration and sync, GitHub integration and sync, and the ability to save to Dropbox.

Here is information on using citation managers with Overleaf

If you would like to stay informed about upcoming features and integrations, please visit the Overleaf blog.

Doing Systematic Reviews

Before you embark on a systematic review, please understand that this could easily be a one year or more project.

You may wish to peruse UCSF's Systematic Review Guide for information.

These articles may also be helpful:

Five steps to conducting a systematic review. Khan KS, Kunz R, Kleijnen J, Antes G. Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine. 2003 Mar;96(3):118-21. PubMed PMID: 12612111

A Guide to Conducting a Standalone Systematic Literature Review Okoli C. Communications of the Association for Information Systems 2015; 37(1): 879-910.

UC Berkeley licenses Covidence, a tool to help you with your systematic reviews.
In Covidence, you can:
import citations,
screen titles and abstracts,
upload references,
screen full text,
create forms for critical appraisal,
perform risk of bias tables,
complete data extraction, and
export a PRISMA flowchart summarizing your review process.

As an institutional member, our users have priority access to Covidence support. Our license allows unlimited simultaneous reviews, and you can add people who are not affiliated with UCB.
To access Covidence using the UC Berkeley institutional account, start at this page and follow the instructions.

Other Citation Management Tools

  The tools listed above are the most popular at UC Berkeley, but there are several others available.

  Some that your UCB colleagues are using include: F1000 Workspace, Qiqqa, Paperpile, and ReadCube Papers.

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.