Provides assistance to groups committed to understanding and preventing violence, particularly adolescent violence. Disseminates information to the public, offers technical assistance to those working in violence prevention, and conducts basic research into the causes of violence and the effectiveness of violence prevention programs. Publications and survey instruments are available.
Works with states and territories to infuse knowledge, expertise, and leadership to reduce injury, hospitalization, disability and death for all children and youth. Helps states strengthen their capacity, utilize data and implement effective strategies to create injury and violence free environments.
Provides detailed search queries for key NLM databases: PubMed, PubMed Health, HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress), and HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources). Includes links to important guidelines, assessment instruments and measures.
A database on the extent, nature and consequences of violence against women, and on the impact and effectiveness of policies & programmes for eliminating such violence. Includes data on violence against women, as well as analysis of such data.
Provides information on state actions, including laws and bill tracking, related to child maltreatment, teen dating violence, traumatic brain injury, motor vehicle safety, falls by the elderly, and more.
Women who have experienced IPV [intimate partner violence] in their lifetime are more likely to report having asthma, diabetes, frequent headaches, chronic pain, poor physical and mental health. This toolkit offers providers, health plan administrators, domestic violence advocates and others, the tools to implement the recommendations and identify and support patients facing abuse.
Includes publications, links to state and territorial coalitions, information for sexual assault forensic examiners (SAFEs) and sexual assault nurse examiners (SANEs): guidelines, protocols, immediate medical concerns, legislation, training, resources relevant to children and adolescents, and more.
Administers financial and technical assistance to communities across the country that are developing programs, policies, and practices aimed at ending domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking. Provides reports and publications.
The Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Office (SAPRO) is responsible for oversight of the Department's sexual assault policy. SAPRO works hand-in-hand with the Services and the civilian community to develop and implement innovative prevention and response programs.
Information for policy makers, community leaders, parents, teens and professionals, including tools to increase the effectiveness of youth violence prevention and intervention efforts, statistics, best practices, policies, and model programs, and research on risk.
Works to prevent, control, and optimize recovery from injuries and violence, especially in rural communities. Is a leading resource of injury prevention information. Provide outstanding training to students, professionals, practitioners and researchers.
Works on combating the effects of violence and building a human rights culture in South Africa. Publications cover international studies, gangs, death penalty, political violence, state violence, and theory of violence.
Network of WHO Member States, international agencies and civil society organizations working to prevent violence. VPA participants share an evidence-based public health approach that targets the risk factors leading to violence and promotes multi-sectoral cooperation.