Skip to main content

OOMPH Library Resources: Second On-Campus Week & PHW289: What library information do you still need to know?

Welcome to the Public Health Library's session for OOMPH students here for their second on-campus week!

public health library ceiling

guides.lib.berkeley.edu/publichealth/oomph2

Presented by Michael Sholinbeck (msholinb@library.berkeley.edu)

Remote and Wireless Access

A quick reminder:

Click here for information about wireless access while you are at UC Berkeley.

Click here for information on off-campus access (using VPN or proxy server) to library and other UCB resources.

Company / Industry Information

A huge amount of industry and company information is available from licensed and authoritative sources. From disaster relief, to drone manufacturing, to soda production: get current information on supply chains, major players, market shares, globalization, revenues, regulation, SWOT analyses, and much more. In addition, researching trade journals can provide insight on how industry works. (Are you interested in, for example, how beer is marketed to ethnic minorities?)

The UC Berkeley Business Library has an online guide to finding this kind of information.

Is Crime "Public Health"?

Topics relating to crime can be highly relevant in public health research. The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries (and sometimes full text) of criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse articles and other resources. One can search for citations, similar to other databases, or browse by topics.

Topics of interest include:

Information on grants/funding, conferences, and more are also available on the site.

Other places to Find Journal Articles and More

For an annotated list of databases to find journal articles and more, check out the "Finding Articles" tab on the OOMPH Library Guide!

Even more databases are listed on the Public Health Library's Databases & Indexes guide; ask a librarian if you need assistance.

Writing Resources

Do you want help and information on academic/scholarly writing?

The UC Berkeley Student Learning Center has handouts and other resources on:               toolbox image

  • The Writing Process
  • Prewriting / Developing a Topic
  • Thesis, Analysis, and Structure
  • Revision
  • Research Papers
  • Resources for International Students
  • ... and more!

The Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab) has an excellent guide on the writing process.

How Many, How Much, and Where?: Incidence and Prevalence Database

The Public Health Library recently licensed the Incidence and Prevalence Database, "the most efficient way to look at the world’s epidemiology data."

The IPD covers over 4,500 diseases, procedures, symptoms and other health issues for incidence, prevalence, morbidity, mortality, comorbidity, treated or diagnosed rates, cost and much more.

HIV data from IPD

Data is fully sourced and is broken down by U.S. and international data. Statistical summaries allow researchers the ability to see all prevalence and incidence data found in the IPD for a particular disease or procedure. In addition, the summary includes 6-year U.S. trend data for hospital inpatients, hospital outpatients, physician office visits, and emergency department visits. Summaries may be downloaded to Excel.

Free Money (almost)

The Public Health Library offers a Grant and Research Information guide: an annotated listing of sources of grant funding, grant funding tools, and other resources to help in the sponsored research process.

Did you know that the Foundation Center offers a free online Proposal Writing Short Course? Sections include: Gathering Background Information; Components of a Proposal; The Statement of Need; The Budget; and more.

There are also many books available to help you, such as Writing dissertation and grant proposals: epidemiology, preventive medicine and biostatistics, by Lisa Chasan-Taber. (2014; CRC Press). Chapter One is Ten Top Tips for Successful Proposal Writing; other chapters discuss writing, literature searching, study design, data analysis, choosing a funding source, and more.

Online Books

UC Berkeley students have access to a vast number of online books. 

 

Many are licensed/subscribed; many others are freely available.

Generally, the best way to find online books is to search OskiCat, the library catalog. Limit to "Available Online" using the drop-down menu to the right of the search box.  

Not all online books are in OskiCat however. Take a look at the Public Health Library's eBooks guide for more ways to access online books.

Notable examples include:

Online Newspapers / News Sources

The Library provides access to thousands of online newspapers and other news sources, from the very local to sources from all over the globe, and from general sources to those specializing in environment, health, ethnic groups, etc.

Use OskiCat, the UCB Library catalog, to search for titles. More information is available on the Public Health Library's Electronic Newspapers and News Sources web page.

<

Context: An Article is NOT Simply a PDF

What might you miss when you click on a link to an article PDF?

Look at this PDF: Rural urban differences of cardiovascular disease risk factors in adult Asian Indian (Das M, Pal S, Ghosh A. American Journal of Human Biology, 20(4):440-5; 2008).

It's nice to be able to read it online.... BUT:

Retracted article in PubMed


... if you look at the PubMed record , you will notice this article has been retracted; this happened about 6 months after publication. Quick searches in Web of Science and in Scopus reveal that this article has been cited over 40 times (as of May 2015)! Nearly all these cites occurred after this article's retraction, and this citation count has grown over time.

What are the implications of continued citation of retracted articles?

Statistics and Data Visualization

The Library provides access to a vast number of statistical and data resources covering many topics; whether you want to download data files on home foreclosure or create a custom table of STD cases and rates by state, ethnicity, age, or gender.

The Library also provides full access to Statista, which allows data on a myriad of topics to be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations.

Statista also includes "dossiers," comprehensive reports in PowerPoint format on over 1000 topics. Here's the 83-page dossier on asthma.

Health Statistics & Data Resources: the Public Health Library's guide to finding statistics and data on a wide variety of health topics.

Tests / Measurement / Scales / Surveys

Finding test instruments was, in the past, a tedious project: one needed to search print indexes, or hope that a journal article included the actual instrument. Now, the UC Berkeley Library licenses PsycTESTS, from the American Psychological Association: A full text repository of tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests.

PsycTESTS record

Individual tests are assigned a DOI.
Links to journal articles describing development, validation, or use of the test are included.

Public Health/Medical Images

Interested in sources of public health and medical images? We have created a guide to some top image resources. Many of the images are freely available for re-use.

condom butterflycorncigarettes and bar

Can I Still Access All This Stuff After I Graduate?

A common question is, how to I access all these databases, online journals, etc. after I get my degree?

Many of these resources are licensed (subscribed) from private entities, and their use is restricted to folks affiliated with UC Berkeley. However, the Public Health Library has an Alumni Guide: Library Resources for Public Health Lifelong Learning, Research, Productivity that may help you after you graduate. Check it out!

Remember the the Library Guides created for every OOMPH course will remain available to you - no special access or logon is required to view these.

ResearchGate: Create an account (easy) and get access to scientists who want to share their papers. Also has job information. ResearchGate claims to facilitate access to millions of publications.

Will you be living or working in a low GNI (Gross National Income) country? There are programs that bring online journal access, for example, to certain countries. Research4Life enables low GNI countries to gain access to scientific literature. It is the collective name for four programs:
HINARI (biomedical and health literature)
AGORA (food, agriculture, environmental science and related social sciences literature)
OARE (environmental science literature)
ARDI (development, innovation, technology, etc. literature)
A country's eligibility for Access to Research4Life is based on a its GNI. Eligible institutions include universities and colleges, research institutes, professional schools, extension centers, government offices, local non-governmental organizations (NGOs), hospitals and national libraries.
» Your institution may also be eligible for document delivery of journal articles.

Emergency Access Initiative (US National Library of Medicine)
The Emergency Access Initiative (EAI) is a partnership of the National Library of Medicine, the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, and the Professional/Scholarly Publishing Division of the Association of American Publishers and other publishers. EAI provides temporary free access to full text articles from major biomedicine titles to healthcare professionals, librarians, and the public affected by disasters. Access to biomedical literature through the Emergency Access Initiative is only available to those affected by the disaster and for those providing assistance to the affected population. This site is active only when a disaster event is named and the access period specified.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.