Skip to main content

PH 206 Public Health Nutrition Core Course: Find Articles and More

Searching PubMed

PubMed: Citations to journal articles on health and medical topics, with links to full text via Getting Started with UC-eLinks

PubMed searching top tips:
  1. Combine terms with AND or OR
  2. Use Filters (eg, Ages, Article types, Languages, etc.)
  3. Search for your term as a word in the title or title or abstract (using Filters, Advanced Search, or Field Tags)
  4. Use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), with subheadings
  5. Use the Similar articles link located by each citation
  6. Try PubMed's Clinical Queries or Topic-Specific Queries
  7. Always keep in mind the question you are trying to answer when creating a search strategy and when reviewing the articles you find

» PubMed Tips & Tricks: Basic search guide with link to PubMed exercise set (docx). Start here to learn how to search PubMed more effectively

» Clinical Queries: Finding systematic reviews on your topic can help you find more research literature and give you a sense of the body of knowledge on a topic.
    Using the etiology filter is useful a "cause of disease" search.
    Therapy encompasses any type of intervention (including diet, health education, etc.).

» Topic-Specific Queries use "canned" search strategies to fetch a citation subset of PubMed. Relevant topic-specific queries include:

  • Comparative Effectiveness
  • Health Disparities
  • Healthy People

Beyond PubMed: Other Resources for Finding Journal Articles and More

Remember those PubMed "Top Tips"? Many are applicable to the databases below as well as several other databases. access paid by UCB   Getting Started with UC-eLinks

Embase
Key Subjects: Medicine; Health; Pharmacology/Toxicology
Broad biomedical scope. Useful for medicine, genetics, infectious diseases, healthcare policy & management, and more.
» Embase does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Emtree above the search box to search or browse for terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    More non-US literature, better coverage of drug/toxicology topics ...

Agricola
Key Subjects: Nutrition; Agriculture Covers agricultural economics, nutrition, hunger, food production, agricultural chemicals, etc.
» Agricola does not use a controlled vocabulary. Use the subject descriptor index to find terms, or focus your search by using title words.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Nutritionally induced diseases, WIC program, women in rural development ...

CAB Abstracts
Key Subjects: Agriculture; Nutrition
Covers agriculture, human health, and the management of natural resources, and with particular attention to the needs of developing countries.
» CAB Abstracts does use a controlled vocabulary. Use the drop-down menu and select Descriptors then click to browse the thesaurus.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Animal production, commodity transport, organoleptic properties, ...

Global Health
Key Subjects: Global Health; Nutrition; Public Health
Citations in environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, zoonoses, and more. More international coverage than PubMed.
» Global Health does use a controlled vocabulary. Use the drop-down menu and select Descriptors then click to browse the thesaurus.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Search by (relatively narrow) geographic settings, or country in which work published.

** You may wish to search CAB Abstracts and Global Health together

Business Source Complete
Key Subjects: Business; Finance; Economics
Marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, and more. Besides journal literature, BSC includes financial data, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
» BSC does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Subjects on the right side to browse the thesaurus.
» Subject terms/features not found in PubMed:
    Search by company or industry, public health topics from a marketing point of view ...

ERIC
Key Subjects: Education
Access to education literature, including nutrition education, nutrition instruction, and school lunch programs. Sources include journals, books, conferences and meetings, reports, theses/dissertations, and audiovisual media. ERIC also includes materials on tests, measurement, and evaluation.
» ERIC does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Thesaurus to search or browse terms..
» What's not in PubMed?
    Nutrition Instruction; Educational Assessment ...

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Publications in economics, political science, sociology and anthropology from over 100 countries.
» IBSS does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Thesaurus to search or browse terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Postcolonialism, culture shock, host country, ...

PsycINFO
Key Subjects: Psychology; Behavior
Citations in psychology, behavior, and related disciplines.
» PsycINFO does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Thesaurus to search or browse terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Economic security, community attitudes, test/measurement index ...

Sociological Abstracts
Key Subjects: Sociology; Demography
Citations in demography, social psychology, and sociology. 
» Sociological Abstracts does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Thesaurus to search or browse terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Cultural capital, peer relations, victim
ization, family structure, strategies, neighborhoods, social constructionism, ...
» Sociological Abstracts Guide

Google Scholar
Key Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Citations in all topics.
» Google Scholar does not use a controlled vocabulary. Use Advanced Search by clicking the ▼ in the search box, then search for title words.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Broad topical scope. Be aware that Google Scholar lacks:
    » the ability to use iteration in developing search strategies,
    » any indexing,
    » bulk downloading or saving of records,
    » a complete description of its contents.

Scopus
Key Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Large, multidisciplinary database of citations to articles, conference papers, patents, and more.
» Scopus does not use a controlled vocabulary. Scopus uses author and other keywords.
» Subject terms/features not found in PubMed:
    Excellent resource for cited reference searching; Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance.

» Scopus search tips

Web of Science
Key Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Large, multidisciplinary database; links to cited articles and times cited are provided for retrieved articles.
» Web of Science does not use a controlled vocabulary; it uses author keywords and keywords assigned algorithmically.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Scope of database is broad; excellent for cited reference searching.

» Cited Reference Searching exercise (docx; from the Public Health Library)

Use the library catalogs to find books, reports, etc. on your topic. Books, while not often where original research is published, can often provide an overview of a topic and get you started with some key articles.

  • Melvyl: Catalog of all UC, and the world
    » Here's a 1 minute video on how to sort your Melvyl search results to show libraries located near you at the top of the search results
  • OskiCat: Catalog of UC Berkeley

The above are but a sample of the many databases available to find article and other citations.
See the Public Health Databases & Indexes guide for more.
Ask a librarian for help if you are having trouble with your topic.

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-campus access is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:

Proxy Server
Instructions to configure your browser for access to licensed resources.
Proxy Server FAQ
iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch setup instructions

Virtual Private Network (VPN)
Download and install the VPN client to allow access the UC Berkeley licensed resources.
VPN FAQ

Grey Literature

Grey Literature refers to publications not produced by commercial publishers: reports (pre-prints, technical reports, market research reports, etc.), theses, conference proceedings, etc. They are often produced by government entities, research institutions, or NGOs/IGOs.

The Guides to Public Health Subjects consists of topical web pages; each consisting of annotated lists of organizations, agencies, databases, and publications. Topics include:
    • Environmental Health
    • Health Equity
    • Food/Nutrition
    • Maternal and Child Health
    • Health Program Planning, Policy, and Evaluation
and many more.

The Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in selected public health topics, including:
Nutrition
Obesity
etc.

Google and other search engines can be useful for finding grey literature. Improve your search using:
Quotes for phrase searching:
"social marketing"
Site: to specify a particular site or domain:
"social marketing" site:.org (for a domain search)
"social marketing" site:cdcnpin.org (for a specific site search)
Boolean search statements (eg, OR):
("social marketing" OR "audience segmentation")

Find Dissertations and Theses, including the full text of most dissertations from 1996 to the present.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL): over 2 million current and archived technical reports from many government agencies; over 600,000 available full text online.

Systematic and Other Reviews

"Systematic reviews seek to collate all evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria in order to address a specific research question. They aim to minimize bias by using explicit, systematic methods."
(from Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions.

The Cochrane Library (Citations of Cochrane's systematic reviews are in PubMed)

Effective Public Health Practice Project Systematic Reviews (Small collection of public health systematic reviews)

Public Health + (Methodologically sound studies from top journals in a browsable, searchable database)

Health Evidence (Methodologically-sound reviews of health promotion and public health interventions)

Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews (Systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide)

The Campbell Collaboration Library (Systematic reviews in psychology, behavior, etc.)

PubMed always separates review articles among the search results - see the link labeled Review on the right side of the search results page. Also, use Clinical Queries to search for systematic reviews in PubMed.

News

Online Newspapers & News: Guide to news sources worldwide

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.