Skip to main content

PH 210E: Resources for MCH Data Analysis: Data!

How many and how much?

Finding MCH and Related Data

Presented by Michael Sholinbeck, (msholinb@library.berkeley.edu; 510-642-2511)
PH 210E, September 11, 2017     guides.lib.berkeley.edu/publichealth/ph210

Want More ..?

This guide has only a small number of sources for health statistics and data. Many more may be found on the Public Health Library's Health Statistics & Data Resources guide.

Still can't find what you need? Ask us!

You may also wish to contact the Library's Data Lab for help with finding data and for advising on technical data issues such as file format conversion and basic statistical software use.

In addition, the UC Berkeley D-Lab offers consultations, trainings, working groups and more on all things data.

Caution: Survey Ahead!

Lots of health data comes from surveys. Here are some issues to consider when looking at survey or estimated data:

  • Look at sample sizes and survey response rates - representative of your population? Enough responses to be valid?
  • Who was surveyed? - representative of population being compared to? Include group you are interested in?
  • Were the survey respondents from heterogeneous groups? Do the survey questions have a similar meaning to members of different groups?
  • How was survey conducted? Via telephone? - Many people only have cell phones. Random selection or targeted group?
  • What assumptions and methods were used for extrapolating the data?
  • Look at definitions of characteristics - Does this match your own definitions?
  • When was the data collected?

(Adopted from information from the UCSF Family Health Outcomes Project website.)

Reliability and Validity

Reliable data collection: relatively free from "measurement error."

  • Is the device used to measure elapsed time in an experiment accurate?
  • Is the survey written at a reading level too high for the people completing it?

Validity refers to how well a measure assesses what it claims to measure

  • If the survey is supposed to measure "quality of life," how is that concept defined?
  • How accurately can this animal study of drug metabolism be extrapolated to humans?

(Adopted from Chapter 3, Conducting research literature reviews: from the Internet to paper, by Arlene Fink; Sage, 2010.)

Asthma Diagnosis in Bay Area Kids

% of children ages 1-17 whose parents report that their child has ever been diagnosed with asthma, from Kidsdata

Major Depression in US Youth

Had at Least One Major Depressive Episode in the Past Year among Youths Aged 12 to 17, by State: 2012-2013. from NSDUH

Find Health Statistics and Data Here

QuickFacts (US Census)
Quickly get recent state, county, and city demographics (including age, race/ethnicity, income/employment, residence, and more - a huge amount of statistics) and business information. Use American Factfinder to locate detailed Census tables.
» Get data: Census data is available form several sources

CDC WONDER
Access to a variety of reports, guidelines, and text-based and numeric databases, including vital statistics, environment, population, disease and disability, immunization, behavior and health, injuries, occupational health, and more.
» Export data to a tab-delimited text file

National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
NHANES is a survey that collects information about the health and diet of people in the United States. It is unique in that it combines a home interview with health tests that are done in a mobile examination center.
» Data is available under each survey year (eg, here is the link to 2013-2014 data)

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The CHRs measure health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. Roadmaps provide guidance and tools to understand the data, and strategies that communities can use to move from education to action.
» Get Data!

California Health Interview Survey: AskCHIS
Quick access to state and local data on hundreds of health topics. Run your own customized search using AskCHIS (requires one-time, free registration), review publications and data summaries, and more. CHIS is the largest state health survey in the USA.
Use AskCHIS NE to get estimates on top health indicators by zip code, city, legislative district.
» Get Data!

Health Indicators Map Gallery
Designed for Community Health Needs Assessments. Pre-made, interactive maps of the United States down to census tract level for demographics, social and economic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, clinical care, and health outcomes.

Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (HRSA)
Includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators from the National Survey of Children’s Health, National Health Interview Survey Child Component, Survey of Pathways to Diagnosis and Services, and National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.
» Get (NSCH) Data! (The other surveys also have data analysis pages)

Kidsdata.org
Find, customize, and share data on more than 400 measures of child health and well being. Data are available for every legislative district, city, county, and school district in California. Easily incorporate data into reports, presentations, grant proposals, policy decisions, media stories, and advocacy work. Search by region, by demographic group, or by topic.
» Download data to Excel

OECD Health Statistics
Tables on health and health systems across OECD countries. OECD Health is an interactive database comprising data on a range of topics on the health care systems in the OECD Member countries and Accession countries, which are presented in a demographic, economic and social context. Some time series go back as far as 1960.
» Download data to Excel, CSV, PC-axis, XML.

Demographic and Health Surveys
Collects, analyzes, and disseminates data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition in over 90 countries. Data is available using the STATcompiler that allows users to select numerous countries and hundreds of indicators to create customized tables.
» Data access requires one-time, free registration.

HCUPnet
Online query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project. It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, US DHHS.
» Get Data!

Statista
Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Health-related topics include health systems, care and support, the state of health, medical technology, pharmaceutical products and their market, and physicians, hospitals and pharmacies.
» Download data into spreadsheets and presentations.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (US DHHS)
SAMHDA provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files from numerous series on substance abuse and mental health in the US.
» You can get data from links provided in each series/survey.

PeriStats
PeriStats is developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center and provides access to maternal and infant health data for the United States and by state or region, including more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables.
» Export data as a CSV file.

Additional Sources for MCH Data

Thank you!

true love

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.