Skip to main content
Agencies, NGOs, IGOs, and More
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
Functions include public health assessments of waste sites, health consultations concerning specific hazardous substances, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances.
Climate Analysis Indicators Tool
Provides free access to comprehensive, reliable, and comparable greenhouse gas emissions data sets, as well as other climate-relevant indicators.
A relational database that integrates data from many different EPA databases. Subjects covered include Air, Chemicals, Facility Information, Grants/Funding, Hazardous Waste, Risk Management Plans, Superfund, Toxic Releases, and Water Permits, Drinking Water, Drinking Water Contaminant Occurrence, and Drinking Water Microbial and Disinfection Byproduct Information.
Environmental Data Explorer (UN)
Holds more than 500 variables covering Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them as maps, graphs, tables or download the data.
Environmental Performance Index
Ranks how well countries perform on high-priority environmental issues in two broad policy areas: protection of human health from environmental harm and protection of ecosystems.
Gender and Water Alliance
GWA is a global network dedicated to mainstream gender in water resources management. The mission of GWA is to promote women's and men's equitable access to and management of safe and adequate water, for domestic supply, sanitation, food security and environmental sustainability. Site includes reports, case studies, documents on capacity building programmes, and training material and manuals.
Toxic Substances Hydrology Program (US Geological Survey)
This program provides objective and reliable scientific information needed to develop policies and practices that help avoid exposure to toxic substances, mitigate environmental deterioration from contaminants, provide cost-effective cleanup and waste-disposal strategies, and reduce future risk of contamination. The Toxics Program conducts: (1) intensive field investigations of representative cases of subsurface contamination at local releases; and (2) watershed- and regional-scale investigations of contamination affecting aquatic ecosystems from nonpoint and distributed point sources.
United Nations Environment Programme
UNEP is involved in all manner of environmental issues, such as sustainable consumption, climate change, chemicals, and more. Their site includes databases, publications, and descriptions of their many initiatives.
WHO/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Programme for Water Supply & Sanitation
Create custom table or maps on drinking water or sanitation topics. Also includes country reports and numerous other documents.
World Bank: Environment
Provides an overview of the World Bank's work on environmental issues and links to relevant activities. Includes Information about the Environment Strategy, Operational and Safeguard Policies, environmental work in the regions, capacity-building efforts, partnerships, and publications.