Skip to main content
Tools & Tips & Other Resources
Adverse Childhood Experiences
Tools and resources for the prevention workforce: assessment, prevention, community partnerships, and more. From Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), US DHHS.
A daily news site where race matters, featuring award-winning investigative reporting and news analysis. Colorlines is published by Race Forward, a national organization that advances racial justice through research, media and practice.
An interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility with GIS data layers and tables displayed at varying geographies for all communities in the United States. Map topics such as poverty, crime, food insecurity, demographics, health insurance and obesity utilizing data sources such as the American Community Survey, the Census, USDA, and the CDC.
Provides practical skill-building information on over 250 different topics. Topic sections include step-by-step instruction, examples, check-lists, and related resources. It has sections on leadership, strategic planning, community assessment, advocacy, grant writing, and evaluation, as well as Best Practices examples and evidence.
DataCenter: Research for Justice
DataCenter's research tools are designed to help organizers and activists think strategically about the role of information in developing actions and campaigns, and to provide a practical guide for doing effective campaign research. The tools are organized in a sequence to take you through the research-for-action process, from formulating answerable research questions to sources and tips for finding the information you need. DataCenter has closed, but most of the tools and resources are still on their website.
Effective Interventions: HIV Prevention that Works (US CDC)
This website is designed to support High Impact Prevention (HIP) - using interventions with demonstrated potential to reduce new infections to yield a major impact on the HIV epidemic.
Health Equity Resource Toolkit for State Practitioners Addressing Obesity Disparities (PDF; US CDC)
The purpose of the Health Equity Resource Toolkit for State Practitioners Addressing Obesity Disparities is to increase the capacity of state health departments and their partners to work with and through communities to implement effective responses to obesity in populations that are facing health disparities. The Toolkit’s primary focus is on how to create policy, systems, and environmental changes that will reduce obesity disparities and achieve health equity.
How to Conduct a Root Cause Analysis
A root cause analysis is a process used to identify the primary source of a problem. In social and behavior change communication, a root cause analysis is used to examine why there is a difference between the desired state of a health or social issue (vision) and what is happening now (current situation). The steps on this site will help identify many possible causal factors including the root cause of the health issue identified during the situation analysis. From Health COMpass.
The Impact of Racism on the Health and Well-Being of the Nation (APHA)
We know that racism, both intentional and unintentional, affects the health and well-being of individuals and communities and stifles the opportunity of many to contribute fully to the future and growth of this nation. Here is a webinar series about racism's impact on health and disparities.
Let's Talk: Universal and targeted approaches to health equity
What approaches do public health organizations use to close the gap between the most and least healthy, and reduce disparities all along the socio-economic status gradient? This resource is designed as a discussion guide for decision makers and practitioners who want to talk about when and why to use a universal, targeted, targeted universal, or proportionate universal approach - or some combination. The document includes definitions (e.g. health gap and health gradient), examples and questions to guide discussion.
Performing a Community-Based Assessment (UCLA)
Workshop materials from UCLA Center for Health Policy Research where participants learn how to organize, plan, and implement a health assessment of their communities. Participants learn how to plan an assessment, how to identify and map community assets, and how to collect and analyze data for their assessment. They also learn how to identify and engage community collaboration in the assessment process.
Positive Deviance Initiative
A participatory method, Positive Deviance, requires rethinking how we think about risk with implications for working with social networks to improve community health. The site includes case studies and tips to get started.
The Registry of Methods and Tools
A searchable, online collection of methods (processes) and tools (instruments) for knowledge translation, economic evaluation, and more, in public health. Includes such resources as the Partnership Guide
: practical tips, checklists, stories and strategies to help develop, sustain, and evaluate a partnership. From National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (Canada)
San Francisco Indicator Project
The San Francisco Indicator Project is a neighborhood-level data system that measures how San Francisco performs in eight dimensions of a healthy, equitable community. The goal of this project is to support collaboration, planning, decision making, and advocacy for social and physical environments that meet the needs of all citizens.
Social Ecological Model (US CDC)
The SEM is a systems model with multiple bands of influence. A rainbow-like figure of five bands represents the SEM. At the core of the model is the individual, surrounded by four bands of influence representing the interpersonal, organizational, community, and policy levels. CRCCP grantees implement public health activities at these five levels to maximize synergies of intervention for the greatest impact. Each of these bands of influence in the model is described on this website and also here
Understanding the Cultural Framework of Health and Health Care (US NIH)
This report provides the necessary scientific elements and methods required to identify what culture is and how it functions to influence health differentially among diverse population groups along the entire disease continuum from prevention and incidence to morbidity and mortality from most diseases. The Cultural Framework for Health provides a tool for researchers and program evaluators to use in project design, presents the methods and tools to discover the salient cultural processes involved with health behaviors, and how the processes and behaviors influence health and well-being. The framework also suggests techniques to develop measures for these processes.
You can get there from here… (Social Equity and Opportunity Forum of the College of Urban and Public Affairs, Portland State University) (PDF)
The Forum emphasizes the interconnectedness, interdependence, and shared values that are the connective tissue of our society while working to advance economic and social opportunity and reduce Inequality. This paper addresses a fundamental problem of communication – how to effectively talk about an issue. We always knew that people did not always “hear” what we said. Now, with the help of cognitive science we have a better understanding of what people do hear.
Know Your Community: Sources of Statistics & Data
Please contact the Public Health Library if you need additional help finding statistics
State and County QuickFacts
Basic demographic and economic profile of states, counties and cities in the U.S. Data is pulled from the ACS and Decennial Census.
Provides access to a variety Center of Disease Control reports, guidelines, and dozens of text-based and numeric databases, including vital statistics, environment, population, disease and disability, immunization, behavior and health, injuries, occupational health, and more.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
Includes vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America.
Health Indicators Map Gallery
Designed for Community Health Needs Assessments
. Pre-made, interactive maps of the United States down to census tract level for demographics, social and economic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, clinical care, and health outcomes.
Cleanups in My Community (US EPA)
Map and list hazardous waste cleanup locations and grant areas, and drill down to details about those cleanups and grants and other, related information.
California Health Interview Survey (CHIS)
Quick access to state and local data on hundreds of health topics. Run your own customized search using AskCHIS, review publications and data summaries, and more. CHIS is the state's largest health survey.
Use AskCHIS Neighborhood Edition
for statistics at the local level (zip code, city, county and legislative district)
California Department of Public Health: Statistics
Reports and statistics on numerous diseases and conditions in California, many at county level. Includes County Health Status Profiles, selected health status indicators for monitoring state and local progress toward achieving Healthy People goals.
Other state public health departments
Find links to sources of data and statistics from other US states.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.