OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 212 Foundations of Global Health: Organizations and Associations

AAAS seeks to "advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people." It is the world's largest multidisciplinary scientific society and a leading publisher of research through its Science family of journals.

AIHA coordinates responses to a broad range of issues affecting global health. Our programs contribute to sustainable change by providing the management and programmatic support to help donor institutions and health systems coordinate other forms of government or privately-sponsored development assistance.

"The largest international scientific organization dedicated to reducing the worldwide burden of tropical infectious diseases and improving global health. We accomplish this through generating and sharing scientific evidence, informing health policies and practices, fostering career development, and advocating for investment in tropical medicine/global health research."

The Evidence Project uses implementation science—the strategic generation, translation, and use of evidence—to improve family planning policies, programs, and practices: investigating which strategies work best in improving, expanding, and sustaining family planning services, and evaluating how to implement and scale up those strategies.

A nonprofit human development organization dedicated to improving lives in lasting ways by advancing integrated, locally driven solutions. Our staff includes experts in health, education, nutrition, environment, economic development, civil society, gender, youth, research and technology.

Works to improve access to new and underused vaccines for children living in the world’s poorest countries. Has country statistics and provides white papers.

KFF is a non-partisan source of facts, information, analysis, polling, and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public.

The Global Health Policy Center bridges foreign policy and public health communities by creating a strategy for U.S. engagement on global health. The research topics covered include family planning, maternal and child health, immunizations, and infectious disease, among others.

At IDEO.org, we design products, services, and experiences to improve the lives of people in poor and vulnerable communities. Focus areas: reproductive health solutions for teens, financial stability, international development, innovation launchpad.

IHME is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington that provides measurements of the global health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them. Data visualizations and country reports are available, as is information from the Global Burden of Disease project.

ICFJ trains journalists, and launches news organizations, media associations, journalism schools and news products. Also forms networks of citizen journalists who are using mobile services to engage under served communities.

Focuses on making women in developing countries an integral part of alleviating global poverty. Identifies women’s contributions as well as the obstacles that prevent them from being economically strong and able to fully participate in society. Offers publications, tool kits, policy briefs and position papers.

ICRC operates worldwide, helping people affected by conflict and armed violence and promoting the laws that protect victims of war. Site includes topic guides to ICRC's work, and an extensive section on war & law.

The IRC will put in place high-impact, cost-effective solutions that help people affected by crisis. We'll also use our learning and experience to shape humanitarian policy and practice in ways that improve the lives of more people worldwide.

Jhpiego designs innovative, effective and low-cost health care solutions to ensure a level of care for women and their families by training competent health care workers, strengthening health systems and improving delivery of care.

PATH accelerates innovation across five platforms--vaccines, drugs, diagnostics, devices, and system and service innovations

A consortium of over 70 universities, NGOs, government entities, research institutes, and others around the world committed to advancing planetary health. PHA forges collaboration across a broad array of scientific disciplines, as well as with decision-makers, movement builders, and local communities.

PSI uses a multidisciplinary approach to social and behavior change that draws on the tenets of public health, marketing, behavioral economics, and human centered design. They work in reproductive health, malaria, family planning, HIV, diarrhea, pneumonia and sanitation.

"Save the Children believes every child deserves a future. In the United States and around the world, we give children a healthy start in life, the opportunity to learn and protection from harm."

Promotes sexual health throughout human life spans all over the world by developing, promoting and supporting sexology and sexual rights for all.

Helps cities around the world become more resilient to physical, social, and economic challenges such as high unemployment, inefficient public transportation, endemic violence, chronic food and water shortages. disasters, and terrorism.

Major grantmaking foundation with the goals to globally, enhance healthcare and reduce extreme poverty, and in America, expand educational opportunities and access to information technology.

DFID leads the UK’s work to end extreme poverty, working on poverty and disease, mass migration, insecurity and conflict. Information on grants and projects available.

The Global Environment Facility is a partnership for international cooperation where 183 countries work together with international institutions, civil society organizations and the private sector, to address global environmental issues. Provides grants and publications.

Provides grants to countries to fight AIDS, TB, and malaria. Includes reports and other publications.

A family of initiatives fostering innovation to solve key global health and development problems. Each initiative is an experiment in the use of challenges to focus innovation on making an impact.

Funds research to improve human and animal health, and to support the public understanding of science.

Country Profiles, case studies, and access to FAOSTAT, the database of international statistics for the following areas: Food Supply, Food Security, Trade, Prices, and more

PAHO provides technical cooperation and mobilizes partnerships to improve health and quality of life in the countries of the Americas.

A global programme of scientific collaboration that helps facilitate, support and influence efforts to combat diseases of poverty. Information on research, grants, capacity strengthening, and more.

UNAIDS is main advocate for accelerated, comprehensive and coordinated global action on the HIV/AIDS epidemic. It works to lead, strengthen and support an expanded response to HIV and AIDS that includes preventing transmission of HIV, providing care and support to those already living with the virus, reducing the vulnerability of individuals and communities to HIV and alleviating the impact of the epidemic.

Includes evaluation reports on development goals including human rights issues.

"UNICEF works in 190 countries and territories to save children’s lives, to defend their rights, and to help them fulfill their potential." Information, publications, and data on child survival, emergencies, gender, and much more.

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.

UNEP is involved in all manner of environmental issues, such as sustainable consumption, climate change, chemicals, and more. Their site includes databases, publications, and descriptions of their many initiatives.

A source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Offers support to developing countries through policy advice, research and analysis, and technical assistance. Offers free access to comprehensive, downloadable indicator data about development in countries around the globe.

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

CDPH) works to protect the public's health and helps shape positive health outcomes for individuals, families and communities. Data, regulations, publications, and more are available.

CDC's Center for Global Health coordinates and manages the agency's resources and expertise to address global challenges such as HIV/AIDS, malaria, emergency and refugee health, non-communicable diseases, injuries, and more. Includes links to many of the CDC's international programs as well as a link to international health regulations and other resources.

Dedicated to advancing the mission of the NIH by supporting global health research conducted by U.S. and international investigators and building partnerships between health research institutions in the U.S. and abroad. Publishes a comprehensive listing of international funding opportunities called the Directory of Non-NIH Funding Opportunities.

This site functions as a portal for the U S Department of Health and Human Services Office of Global Affairs and describes DHHS projects and programs worldwide.

Health Canada is the Federal department responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health, while respecting individual choices and circumstances.

USAID's global health projects focus areas include HIV/AIDS, nutrition, tuberculosis, maternal and child health, and family planning, among others.

Provides transdisciplinary, experiential research, training, and learning opportunities for students and faculty to improve human health worldwide.

Enables collaborative programs in global health for residents, medical students, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and undergraduates. Research, education, and mentorship opportunities.

"Our vision is to help cure, prevent or manage all disease in our children’s lifetime, our mission is to invent the future of life science research."

Organization of over 145 academic institutions and other organizations from around the world engaged in addressing global health challenges. CUGH builds interdisciplinary collaborations and facilitates the sharing of knowledge.

Brings physical scientists together with experts in economics, law, public health and policy, to creates collaborations that help us learn how to best address issues of global sustainability.

"UCGHI is a system-wide initiative that stimulates, nurtures, and promotes global health research, education, and collaboration to advance the University's mission to improve the lives of people in California and around the world. UCGHI leverages the diverse expertise across the University to revolutionize training of future global health leaders and accelerate the discovery and implementation of transformative global health solutions."

Interdisciplinary educational, research and service organization. Works on research, treatment, public health practice and policy development for tuberculosis, maternal and newborn child health, reproductive health, and more.