Lots of tips & tools on planning an evaluation, deciding which method to use, etc, including an interactive guide for managing an evaluation. Website includes sections on engaging stakeholders, securing resources, ethics, and much more.
Short presentations on evaluation basics and hot topics designed to help you obtain an understanding of evaluation, from how to write an evaluation plan, to deciding which evaluation technique to use, to developing a logic model, and much more.
Effective program evaluation is a systematic way to improve and account for public health actions. Evaluation involves procedures that are useful, feasible, ethical, and accurate. A practical, non-prescriptive tool, the evaluation framework summarizes and organizes the steps and standards for effective program evaluation.
The purpose of this learning module is to build knowledge and skill in the area of evaluation of health and health research initiatives. The five sections are:
-Evaluation: A Brief Overview
-Designing an Evaluation
-Special Issues in Evaluation
Within an evaluation, the process of information exchange, interpretation and application of knowledge are significantly influenced by the cultures of the participants, including the evaluator. This report provides practical information and insights to design and conduct a culturally competent evaluation; helping guide the complex dynamics between evaluators, funders and stakeholders of different cultures.
A microsite of resources and tools to help you measure and describe your programs’ impact on families and communities and on factors related to health. MeasureUp provides examples, tools, and resources to help you make your case.
This toolkit provides guidance on how to use data to plan a health program and to measure its success through monitoring and evaluation (M&E). It also offers links to important M&E-related resources. Basic introductions are provided throughout the toolkit, as well as a glossary of planning, monitoring and evaluation terms. Also includes Resources by Health Topic.
The Program evaluation toolkit, developed by the Ontario Centre of Excellence for Child and Youth Mental Health, outlines a three-phase process to apply to program evaluation. It contains useful lists, steps and templates for developing a logic model and final report. This toolkit can be used by anyone involved in planning and conducting program evaluation, accessing data sources and analyzing data on an ongoing basis.
Information regarding evidence-based practices relevant to child welfare. Evidence-based practices are those that have empirical research supporting their efficacy. This information is provided in simple straightforward formats reducing the user's need to conduct literature searches, review extensive literature, or understand and critique research methodology.
CBBP is a compendium of community interventions related to chronic disease prevention and health promotion that have been evaluated, shown to be successful, and have the potential to be adapted and replicated by other health practitioners working in similar fields.
Search for either Interventions/Best Practices, Resources, or by Topic or Policy Issues.
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. [date varies]
Indexes journal articles, reviews, and bibliographies which provide evidence-based effects of health care, as well as a register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions and information on healthcare technology assessment from seven databases such as The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness.
Contains model practices in public health as practiced by city and county health officials nationally. Searchable database of successful programs in various areas, such as chronic disease, animal control, cultural competence, emergency preparedness, environmental health, informatics, organizational practices, water quality, and more.
RTIPs is a searchable database of evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials and is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners easy and immediate access to research-tested materials on cancer prevention and more.
This database was created to assist policymakers at all levels of government in identifying evidence-based programs and making data-driven budget decisions. This one-stop online resource provides policymakers with an easy way to find information on the effectiveness of various interventions as rated by eight national research clearinghouses. Search by Policy Area (child welfare, health, etc.); Intervention Type; rating; and Source.
Examples of programs and policies that have been shown to be effective in addressing specific health factors and focus areas.
Focus areas include health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment. Can also search by Decision Makers, eg government officials, employers, community leaders, educators, etc. Each intervention includes citations of evidence and implementation, as well as impact on health disparities.