A spatial database of the location of the world's administrative areas (or administrative boundaries) for use in GIS and similar software. Includes countries and lower level subdivisions such as provinces, departments, bibhag, bundeslander, daerah istimewa, fivondronana, krong, landsvæðun, opština, sous-préfectures, counties, and thana. GADM describes where these administrative areas are (the "spatial features"), and for each area it provides some attributes, such as the name and variant names.
Includes numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points that cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.
The Historical Data Package was not renewed after July 1, 2018. For more information, please contact your subject librarian.A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to email@example.com a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (1980, 1990, 2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
Provides time series development indicators data (1960-present) for 210 countries. Includes tables for population, labor and employment, education, health, energy, urbanization, national accounts, purchasing power, trade, government finance, monetary, balance of payments, external debt, investment risk, taxes, prices and exchange rates, transport and communication, and information and technology.
Provides time series development indicators data (1960-present) for 210 countries. Includes tables for population, labor and employment, education, health, energy, urbanization, national accounts, purchasing power, trade, government finance, monetary, balance of payments, external debt, investment risk, taxes, prices and exchange rates, transport and communication, and information and technology. To access, click "Online Tables" under Formats Available.
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps. Also available to search using a ready reference interface.
Demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries).
China Geo-Explorer II provides access to demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries). It is a tool for quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment, and a tool for identifying spatial patterns and trends. The database can generate easy-to-use and customized reports, dynamic charts, tables and maps. Data can be exported to PDF, Excel, Word, or Shape files.
Geospatial data in both vector and raster formats including scanned maps.
The library's geoportal that helps users find geospatial data in both vector and raster formats including scanned maps. Users can search both geographically and using a text-based search. Some data is restricted to UC Berkeley access only.
There are valuable data available only at the ZIP code level. Because ofs the difficulty of relating United States Postal Service (USPS) ZIP codes to Census Bureau geographies, HUD has released these Crosswalk Files. These are derived from data in the quarterly USPS Vacancy Data. They originate directly from the USPS; are updated quarterly, making them highly responsive to changes in ZIP code configurations; and reflect the locations of both business and residential addresses.
UCB Library Guide to census data products including sources of "raw" data, FTP files, data tables, csv/xls downloads, and more. Data from US Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, and more, via FactFinder, Social Explorer, IPUMS, and many other soruces.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. Download data in several formats.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
TIGER = Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing. TIGER products are spatial extracts from the Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas. The Census Bureau offers several file types and an online mapping application. Our products are:
TIGER/Line Shapefiles - New 2017 Shapefiles
TIGER/Line with Selected Demographic and Economic Data
Cartographic Boundary Shapefiles
KML - Cartographic Boundary Files
Includes Census Bureau mapping resources, and websites hosted by outside agencies and groups. Some websites contain map viewers, while others provide GIS-compatible files, and other tools and reference information, to aid data users with their own mapping software.
Data about environmentally regulated sites and facilities in California. Includes hazardous materials and waste, state and federal cleanups, impacted ground and surface waters, and toxic materials. Data export to csv.
A depository for ARB GIS shapefiles. Each zipped shapefile includes a metadata .xml file. Includes boundaries, federal & state designations, air monitoring stations. Many maps are also available from ARB.
CIESIN conducts interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment. Their site includes tools, such as data conversion applications, geospatial database queries, and online mapping tools, free downloadable geospatial data, and more.
Allows dynamic mapping of federal and state EPA data, including air, water, hazardous waste, enforcement cases, and facilities data. It also maps annual federal and state EPA enforcement actions, and includes a Clean Water Act trends map for the state and federal level, with information on permits, inspection coverage, compliance monitoring, enforcement action, and total assessed penalties. Download data: csv, xlsx, geojson.
EnviroAtlas interactive tools allow users to discover, analyze, and download data (some at community level) and maps related to ecosystem services, or the benefits people receive from nature. Ecosystem services underpin most aspects of human well-being, including water, security, and the economy.
Create maps with various types of environmental information: air releases, drinking water, toxic releases, hazardous wastes, water discharge permits, and Superfund sites. Can also add publicly available data layers. Download data: csv, kml, shapefile.
TRI tracks the management of certain toxic chemicals that may pose a threat to human health and the environment. U.S. facilities report annually how much of each chemical is released to the environment and/or managed through recycling, energy recovery and treatment. Data files consist of the data fields most frequently requested, including:
Facility Name, Address, Latitude & Longitude Coordinates, SIC or NAICS codes,
Chemical Identification, Classification Information,
On-site Release Quantities,
Publicly Owned Treatment Works (POTW) Transfer Quantities,
Off-site Transfer Quantities for Release/Disposal, Further Waste Management,
Summary Pollution Prevention Quantities
County, state, and national-level files in eight broad areas: Health Care Professions, Health Facilities, Population Characteristics, Economics, Health Professions Training, Hospital Utilization, Hospital Expenditures, and Environment. Download data: csv, xlsx.
CEHTP makes environmental health data and information publicly available through a web-based data query system, data displays, and web tools and services. Data available on asthma, drinking water, lead poisoning, pesticides, and more.
Provides interactive maps, graphs, tables, and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of HIV, AIDS, viral hepatitis, tuberculosis, chlamydia, gonorrhea, and primary and secondary syphilis surveillance data from the National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention. YouTube tutorial also available. Download: csv.
Provides access to a variety Center of Disease Control reports, guidelines, and dozens of text-based and numeric databases, including vital statistics, environment, population, disease and disability, immunization, behavior and health, injuries, occupational health, and more. Export data: tab-delimited text file.
Includes vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. National & state data download: csv (national also SAS).
The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. Interactive maps display data geographically. Can download data as .xls
FluNet is a global tool for influenza virological surveillance. The virological data entered into FluNet, e.g. number of influenza viruses detected by subtype, are critical for tracking the movement of viruses globally and interpreting the epidemiological data. Data download: csv, xml, xls, and more.
WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States. Data are organized to monitor progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including health status indicators to monitor progress towards for the overall health goal, indicators to track equity in health indicators, and the indicators for the specific health and health-related targets of the SDGs.
OECD Health Statistics consists of tables on health and health systems across OECD countries. OECD Health Data is an interactive database comprising data on a range of topics on the health care systems in the OECD Member countries and Accession countries, which are presented in a demographic, economic and social context. Some time series go back as far as 1960.
Provides access to several small area estimation projects conducted by the US National Cancer Institute. Model-based methods that combine information from large scale national surveys and multiple related sources have been developed to produce state or county level estimates for a number of measures:
- Cancer Risk Factors and Screening Behaviors
- Tobacco Use and Policies
- Cancer Related-Knowledge
Geographically-linked health and demographic data for dozens of countries from The DHS Program and the US Census Bureau: survey boundaries, indicator data, modeled surfaces, geospatial covariates, and population estimates. Also includes self-guided QGIS curriculum.
An interactive web-based visualization tool that shows the location and service details of healthcare service providers in Bangladesh’s major cities created to improve health service planning, referral and oversight in urban Bangladesh. Available in English & Bengali.
Assembles statistics on food environment indicators to stimulate research on the determinants of food choices and diet quality, and provides a spatial overview of a community's ability to access healthy food and its success in doing so. Download data: xls.
Create maps showing food access indicators by census tract using different measures and indicators of supermarket accessibility; Compare food access measures based on 2015 data with the previous 2010 measures; View indicators of food access for selected subpopulations; and Download census-tract-level data on food access measures.
Information on gentrification and displacement in American cities, with a current focus on the San Francisco Bay Area, Southern California and Portland. Includes tools to help communities identify the pressures surrounding them and take more effective action. Data download xlsx.
WorldClim is a set of global climate layers (gridded climate data) with a spatial resolution of about 1 km2. These data can be used for mapping and spatial modeling. WorldClim version 2 has average monthly climate data for minimum, mean, and maximum temperature and for precipitation for 1970-2000.
An interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility with GIS data layers and tables displayed at varying geographies for all communities in the United States. Map topics such as poverty, crime, food insecurity, demographics, health insurance and obesity utilizing data sources such as the American Community Survey, the Census, USDA, and the CDC.
Provides US maps for the reported outbreaks of several diseases down to the county level, with a breakdown of reported cases by month at the state level. The diseases mapped here are West Nile Virus, St. Louis Encephalitis, Eastern & Western Equine Encephalitis, La Crosse Virus, Powassan Virus, both local and imported Dengue Fever, and both local and imported Chikungunya Virus..
Allows users to view current infectious diseases with an interactive mapping tool. The data is aggregated by disease and results can be displayed by either disease or country and provides easy access to the original alert. This site integrates outbreak data from a variety of sources.
Provides de-identified Medicare data down to zip code level, and an expanded set of near real-time multiple hazard tracking services. Helps hospitals, first responders, and electric utility officials to prevent health impacts of prolonged power outages due to storms and other disasters on electricity dependent populations.