Off-campus access is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:
When you click on a link to an article, database, etc., (in a browser or on a mobile device) you will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet.
When you click on a resource link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you will need to use a bookmarklet to access the licensed resource.
Web of Science
Web of Science database includes journal articles across a wide range of disciplines. It offers powerful search and analysis tools to hone into the relevant articles for your research. The in-class exercise explores these tools.
Click here for information about wireless access while you are at UC Berkeley.
Click here for information on off-campus access (using VPN or proxy server) to library and other UCB resources.
Other Scientific Databases and Sources of Scientific Information
Remember those PubMed "Top Tips"? Most are applicable to the databases below, as well as several other databases you may find yourself using.
The list below represents but a sample of the many databases available to find article and other citations.
See the Databases in Public Health Guide for more. Ask a librarian for help if you are having trouble with your topic.
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles.