A prospective study of cancer and other health outcomes in a cohort of licensed pesticide applicators and their spouses from Iowa and North Carolina. The AHS began in 1993 with the goal of answering questions about how agricultural, lifestyle and genetic factors affect the health of farming populations.
A toolbox created to assist individuals from within government, industry, academia, and the general public with assessing exposure. It is a compendium of exposure assessment tools that links to guidance documents, databases, models, reference materials, and other related resources.
The Environmental Health Investigations Branch of the California Department of Public Health has created an online guide on the link between environmental exposure to chemicals and the health effects experienced by a community. Provides basic information about health studies, discusses when a health study is appropriate, and offers examples and alternatives to health studies.
Provides a picture of the regulatory framework of the main elements of OSH legislation, including OSH management and administration, employers’ duties and obligations, workers’ rights and duties, OSH inspection and enforcement, among others.
Coordinates and conducts research on the causes of human cancer, the mechanisms of carcinogenesis, and to develop scientific strategies for cancer control." Their site includes numerous cancer databases on epidemiology, nutrition, genetics, carcinogenesis, and more.
"ILO brings together governments, employers and workers representatives of 187 member States to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men." Website includes research, data, and more.
Find technical information as well as analytical and search tools for the engineering community.
Collection of over 800 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. TCan be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
Affiliated with UCB, this library has paper and pamphlet files, journals, and books on every aspect of workplace health and safety. The library also specializes in worker education materials. The program produces written and audiovisual training materials. Located in Suite 451, University Hall.
NIOSH is responsible for conducting research on and making recommendations for the prevention of the full scope of occupational disease and injury. Provides many publications and databases on health hazards, chemicals, and more.
Contains links to all current OSHA standards, provides information on the rulemaking process used to develop workplace health and safety standards, and includes links to all Federal Register notices that are currently open for comment.
Proposition 65, the Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986, protects California's drinking water sources from chemicals known to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm, and to inform citizens about exposures to such chemicals. Proposition 65 requires the state to maintain and update a list of chemicals known to the state to cause cancer or reproductive toxicity.
These fact sheets are prepared primarily for workers who handle hazardous substances. Information provided in the fact sheets include but are not limited to possible routes of entry for the chemical, workplace exposure limits, acute and chronic health effects that may result from exposure, and handling and storage considerations.
Experimental procedures in biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, cancer biology, cell biology, genetics/genomics, imaging/radiology, infectious diseases, microbiology, molecular biology and medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology/toxicology, plant sciences, and protein science.
Online versions of Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine. Content includes biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cell biology, neuroscience, oncology, and proteomics.
Provides a centralized point of access to state-based occupational health surveillance and related outputs where the original state publications can be searched and viewed. Besides surveillance documents, also includes annual reports, studies, worker handouts, and more.
Aggregates data from thousands of public sources on over 500,000 chemicals. It is searchable by chemical name and other identifiers. Also provides EPA’s computational toxicology information which includes high-throughput screening, chemical exposure, sustainable chemistry (chemical structures and physicochemical properties) and virtual tissues data.
Consists of industrial hygiene samples taken during worksite inspections conducted by OSHA compliance officers. These results are comprised of personal, area, and bulk samples. You can view the full dataset all in one, or view each year individually.
A chemical dictionary file of compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files of chemical substances. Records include CAS Registry and other identifying numbers, molecular formulas, generic names, and synonyms. Another feature of the database is the SuperList, which provides information on whether the chemical substances is on federal and state regulatory agency lists.
Environmental, hazard, and medical information to facilitate the safe management and handling of chemicals. Includes the following databases: DART, ECOTOX, GENETOX, HSDB, IRIS, REPROTOX, RTECS, and more.
"The ChemKnowledge System is composed of many databases; only selected databases are accessible. Accessible databases include but are not limited to:
CHRIS (Chemical Hazard Response Information System)
HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank)
IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System)
New Jersey Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets
RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances)
After logging on with your @berkeley.edu email, you can search across databases, or select a specific database."
Provides manually curated information about chemical–gene/protein interactions, chemical–disease and gene–disease relationships. These data are integrated with functional and pathway data to aid in development of hypotheses about the mechanisms underlying environmentally influenced diseases.
Multiple EPA databases containing information about environmental activities affecting air, water and land anywhere in the U.S., searchable down to the level of Zip Code. Databases are grouped under topics including Air, Land, Water, Waste, Toxics, Radiation, Facility, Compliance, and Other.
"Searches across 20 EPA environmental databases containing information about facilities required to report to state or federal authorities. Well organized into nine areas that can be searched individually: Air, Land, Water, Waste, Toxics, Radiation, Facility, Compliance, and Other."
Peer-reviewed toxicology data for thousands of chemicals. Covers human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas.
Includes data on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. Data covers human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling
procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, properties,laboratory methods, and more. All data are referenced and derived from
books, government documents, technical reports and selected primary journal literature. [Also available at ChemKnowledge from RightAnswer. Note that access is limited to UC faculty, staff and students. Click the menu under Browse a Specific Data Source and select HSDB. Please LOG OFF when you are done.]
Links consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. Provides the chemicals in specific brands and the health effects of those chemicals.
From the U.S. EPA, provides data on human health effects that may result from exposure to substances found in the environment. It includes chronic health hazard assessments for noncarcinogenic effects, including RfD and RfC, and carcinogenicity assessments for lifetime exposures.
Provides data on human health effects that may result from exposure to substances found in the environment. It includes chronic health hazard assessments for noncarcinogenic effects, including RfD and RfC, and carcinogenicity assessments for lifetime exposures.
Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
Evidence based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
Click on Micromedex 2.0 to search across multiple databases for "Evidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions." Can also search specific tools, such as drug identification, drug interactions, drug comparison, and formulary. Help is available by clicking on the User Guide link at the bottom of the page. Mobile app available.
OSHA has annotated the existing Z-Tables with other selected occupational exposure limits. OSHA has chosen to present a side-by-side table with the Cal/OSHA PELs, the NIOSH Recommended Exposure Limits (RELs) and the ACGIH® TLVs®s.
Information on chemical properties, structures, and bioactivity.
Includes three interlinked databases: PubChem Compound (standardized and validated chemical structures and properties), PubChem Substance (depositor-uploaded chemical information), and PubChem BioAssay (descriptions of bioactivity screens for chemicals in PubChem Substance).
Search by CAS number, chemical name, taxonomic serial number, ICTV Database identifier, or other identifiers or characteristics to find all EPA information, documents, and regulations on a particular substance, chemical or group of chemicals.
Contain millions of pages of previously secret documents about toxic substances. Includes secret internal memoranda, emails, slides, board minutes, unpublished scientific studies, and expert witness reports that emerged in recent toxic tort litigation.
Search by chemical name or CAS number to find cancer potency information, acute reference exposure levels, chronic exposure reference levels, California public health goals, Proposition 65 information, and more.
Information on toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually by certain covered industry groups as well as federal facilities." TRI lists amounts of accidental and intentional releases, including covert releases when known, of certain chemicals released to the environment.
Contains information on toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually by certain covered industry groups as well as federal facilities." TRI lists amounts of accidental and intentional releases, including covert releases when known, of certain chemicals released to the environment.