Skip to main content

Biological Sciences Writing: Articles

Peer Review?

is a process by which an article, paper or research proposal is read and reviewed by experts in the same field to make sure it meets the necessary standards before it is published or accepted.

Core Article Databases

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and g neral interest journals, books, and reports.[1865 - present]

BIOSIS Previews
Citations for articles, papers, and books. Includes literature reviews and peer review limits. [1926 - present]

CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health
Covers biomedicine, nutrition and food safety, public health, and toxicology. Sources from 100+ countries.[1910 - present

Cochrane Library
Evidence-based effects, economic evaluations, systematic reviews and technology assessment for health care. [1946 - present

Embase
Primary biomedical resource for systematic reviews, evidence-based medicine. Use Advanced Search for limit to systematic reviews. Includes peer review.[1946 - present]

Google Scholar
Can be used with UC-eLinks. to access the full text of many articles; click on "Preferences", search Library Links for "Berkeley", choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks." Add Bibliography link.

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database. Includes Systematic Reviews search limit, and peer review. [1946 - present]

PubMed Central (PMC)
Full-text archive of biomedical & life sciences literature at U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.Covers: dates vary | Full text

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary,  arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, search footnotes and citations. [1900 - present]

What are Pre-prints? and Open Access?

Different Models of Science communication.
ASAPbio.org

bioArxiv.org - search preprints of articles by subject, updated daily


ASAPbio.org

Find e-Journals

Search UC, E-Journal Titles A-Z
Example: search "Coral Reefs" - journals
Keeping current add RSS feeds, journal article alerts, email .
Citation Linker, search for articles when you have the author, titles, publication.

See also Full list of UC Berkeley Databases.

Use to find full text.
 
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.