Skip to main content

Biological Sciences Writing: Doc. Management

What?

What is DOCUMENT & CITATION MANAGEMENT?
Reference management software allow you to download citations, collect articles share & manage references, PDFs, data, and documents. Some work with word processing to format citations and footnotes in papers and create bibliographies in a variety of styles.

Widely used citation managers:

  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Works with Word and Google Docs (UCB has Google Docs access via bDrive)
  • Works with Word 2016 (Mac)
  • Drag and drop PDF files to create a new reference in RefWorks
  • More sharing options: You can share with various permission levels
  • Web-based: use with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing.

  • Free 30 day trial: or purchase with Student/ Academic price Endnote.com
  • Desktop-based software plus EndNote Web
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users. See our EndNote page for tutorials and additional information.
  • See our EndNote Support page for tutorials and additional information

Zotero

  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • Open source software from the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

  • Free (up to 2 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • From Elsevier

 The TeX logo

  • a typesetting language used for scientific document preparation.
  • LaTeX is a program that converts a plain text file into TeX.
  • BibTeX is a tool that can be used with LaTeX to create documents and bibliographies. http://www.latex-project.org.
  • Tools are free to download.
  • The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software.
  • Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX.

Papers

  • is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs.
  • export references into citation management tools like EndNote to use the citation and bibliography formatting features.

Software for Science Reference Management

  • web-list of many bibliographic management programs for the PC or Mac, some are free.

Managing

Managing Your References and Evaluating Your Sources

compare

 
Storage space Unlimited w/ EndNote 7. 13,000+ papers 5 GB.
13,000+ papers
2 GB/ 5GB with subscription. 5,000+ papers 300 MB.
700+ papers
(more space is inexpensive)
Cost Under $100, or use the Free Trial Free through UCB

Free to everyone

Free, more storage with subscription
Web or desktop Both Both Web Web & browser plug-in
How do you use it? Full - Your Computer
Basic -Endnote Web
Internet Full - Your computer
Basic - Mendeley Web
Full - Your computer
Basic - Zotero Web
Strengths Very robust; good search & storage; direct export with UCB Library databases; works well with PubMed Works well with UCB Library databases; share citations; good for organizing & formatting citations Social component, find other researchers in same field Good at pulling metatdata from web resources, PDFs import automatically.
Word Processing CWYW works with MS Word & OpenOffice; Format Paper works with Pages, Nissus, WordPad, others Write-n-Cite plug-in works only with MS Word; One Line/Cite View works with all word processors Mendeley allows you to cite references while writing in all major citation styles using their Microsoft Word add-on>Works with MS Word and OpenOffice Plug-ins that work with MS Word, OpenOffice, LibreOffice
Annotation of PDFs
Locate articles using UC eLinks Links to our subscriptions Yes yes    
After UC Berkeley You own it Alumni accounts available Free (2 GB storage) Free
Sharing options Email libraries to collaborators

 

See group options here Groups
(members have unlimited groups)
(groups use the creator's storage space)
Other Steeper learning curve; best option for larger collections (1000+) Tends to be slower; limited PDF management Can use Mendeley with another tool; not as agile with EBSCO databases Works best with Firefox, Safari & Chrome versions available; open source
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.