Skip to main content

South Asia Studies: Resource Overview

Image result for wikitravel.org south asia

Bangladesh. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

An Overview of South Asia Studies at Berkeley

Image result for free stock photos map india pakistan

The region of South Asia includes 8 countries, AfghanistanBangladeshBhutanIndiaMaldivesNepalPakistan, and Sri Lanka

 

UC Berkeley offers over 40 courses in South Asian studies through 15 departments, most notably the Department of South & Southeast Asian Studies. Established in 1972, the department's courses cover South and Southeast Asian civilizations, languages, literature, and religious studies.

 

Berkeley's Institute for South Asia Studies, one of only a dozen federally funded "National Resource Centers for South Asia", coordinates with an international draw. The Institute also hosts distinguished visiting scholars who enrich the campus' South Asia conversation and uses outreach, exhibits, lectures, and fundraising to preserve ties with the Bay Area's South Asian communities. 


Libraries and Collections

The South/Southeast Asia Library (S/SEAL) serves as the center for Berkeley's South Asia collections, world-class collections that include both materials of western and vernacular languages.

 

 

Subject Guides

Many South Asia topics are represented with a subject guide, including Afghanistan and the U.S., environmentalism, human rights, labor, nuclear issues in India and Pakistan, social movements, history, and women's studies. Subject guides that serve as individual country overviews can also be found.

 

Exhibits and Galleries

Visit and learn more about our many online South Asia exhibits and galleries. Included are both online representations of past physical exhibits and online-only exhibits. 

 

Special Collections

Berkeley's South Asia Special Collections are most often the result of generous bequests and gifts from private collectors. Most special collections are housed and distributed by the Main Library and various subject specialty libraries and are accessible through the OskiCat and MELVYL catalogs.

 

Home Page          S/SEAL and the South Asia Collections          Exhibits and Galleries          Special Collections          Subject Guides

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.