Skip to main content

South Asia Studies: Subject Guides

Geographical Regions and Current Topics

Image result for asia wikitravel.org free stock imagesKyrygzstan. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Image result for india atlas stock photos

Atlases and Maps

 

Oxford Atlas of the World [2011].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Photo courtesy of 123rf.com]

Image result for asia wikitravel.org free stock images

Taj Mahal, India. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Image result for free stock books

General Reference

Bibliography of South Asia [1994].

A Bird's-eye View: International Institute for Asian Studies [1997]. 

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives [1989].

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia [2002].

Peoples of the World. Asians and Pacific Islanders: The Culture, Geographical Setting, and Historical Background of 41 Asian and Pacific Island Peoples [1993].

 

South Asian Bibliography: A Handbook and Guide [1979].

South Asian Bibliography includes both bibliographies and bibliographical essays on South Asia reference sources.The first section deals with unpublished material such as manuscripts, archives, and unpublished theses. Printed material is treated is the three final sections; one on special formats; one divided by subject category; and one divided by region of treatment or publication.

 

South Asian Civilizations: A Bibliographic Synthesis [1981].

South Asian Civilizations is one of the most complete and most useful of the South Asian bibliographies. This "bible" of sources on South Asia covers major Western language publications. The table of contents itself is invaluable as a chronology of South Asian political, cultural, and social history. Entries are arranged by time period and subject with an author/subject index.

 

Traditional Festivals: A Multicultural Encyclopedia [2005].

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Culture and Daily Life [1998]

Image result for free stock south asia social sciencesSocial Sciences

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image result for afghanistan flagImage result for afghanistan wikitravel.org free images


AfghanistanNational Flag                                                       Kabul. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Image result for india atlas stock photos

Atlases and Maps

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Photo courtesy of 123rf.com]

School girls in AfghanistanHumanities

Human Rights Watch - Afghanistan

Physicians for Human Rights Justice and Forensic Science - Afghanistan

Revolutionary Association of the Women of Afghanistan (RAWA)

United Nations Commissioner Human Rights - Afghanistan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo ABOVE: School girls sit in the girls' section of a school in Bamozai, near Gardez, Paktya Province, Afghanistan.[Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons.

Image result for flag of bangladesh beautiful 3dImage result for Bangladesh free wikitravel.org photos

Bangladesh National Flag                                                       Dhaka. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

 

Image result for Bangladesh free images

General Reference

Bangladesh, a Country Study [1990].

Historical Dictionary of Bangladesh [2003].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Photo courtesy of Pixabay]

 

Image result for india atlas stock photos

Atlases and Maps

Bangladesh in Maps [1981].

Map Series of Bangladesh [1983].

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Photo courtesy of 123rf.com]
 

Image result for 3D flag of bhutan stock photosImage result for Bhutan free wikitravel.org photos

Bhutan National Flag                                                              Cetiya Carika. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Image result for bhutan wikitravel free images

General Reference

Bhutan [1990].

Nepal and Bhutan: Country Studies [1993].

So Close to Heaven: The Vanishing Buddhist Kingdoms of the Himalayas [1995].

Three Kingdoms on the Roof of the World: Bhutan, Nepal, and Ladakh [1990].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paro. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Image result for india atlas stock photos

Atlases and Maps

Bhutan (Scale 1:600,000) [1988].

India, with Sikkim, Bhutan, Jammu and Kashmir  (Scale 1:17,000,000) [1964].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Photo courtesy of 123rf.com]

Image result for flag of india beautiful 3d animationImage result for south asia temple free wikitravel.org photos

India National Flag                                                                  Southern India. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Atlases and MapsImage result for india atlas stock photos

Atlas of South Asia: Fully Annotated [1987].

India, with Sikkim, Bhutan, Jammu and Kashmir  (Scale 1:17,000,000) [1964].

A Historical Atlas of South Asia [1992].

The Imperial Gazetteer Atlas of India [1990].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Photo courtesy of 123rf.com]

Image result for india wikitravel.org free images

Humanities - Architecture, Arts, Dance, and Music

Ahmedabad: Life of a City in India [videorecording] [1990?].

Alamkara: 5000 Years of Indian Art [1994].

The Art and Architecture of the Indian Subcontinent [1986].

Bibliography on Indian Art and  Architecture

Classical Dances and Costumes of India [1983].

Encyclopaedia of Indian Cinema [1999].

Encyclopaedia of Indian Music, with Special Reference to the Ragas [1986].

Studies in Indian Music and Allied Arts [1990].

Taj Mahal: The Illuminated Tomb: An Anthology of Seventeenth-century Mughal and European Documentary Sources [1989].

 

 

Amritsar. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

 

 

 

[Photo BelowUgrasravas recites the Mahabharata story for the sages of the Naimisa forest.]

Humanities - Language and Literature

Another Harmony: New Essays on the Folklore of India [1986].

Encyclopedia of Indian Literature [1987].

In Other Worlds: Essays in Cultural Politics [1987].

International Encyclopedia of Indian Literature [1987].

Women Writing in India: 600 B.C. to the Present [1991].

Writers of the Indian Diaspora [1993].

Encyclopaedia of Teaching Languages in India Series [1993]: Teaching and Development of...Hindi  |  Punjabi  |  Sanskrit

India's Living Languages: The Critical Issues [1991].

Sahibs, Nabobs, and Boxwallahs: A Dictionary of the Words of Anglo-India [1991].

SemioticaIndica: Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Body-language in Indian Art and Culture [1994].

People of India Series [1992]. Volume 9: Languages and Scripts

 

 

Image result for buddha free stock imagesHumanities - History, Religion, and Philosophy

Encyclopaedia of Buddhism [1998].

The Encyclopaedia of Sikhism [1995].

Encyclopaedia of the Hindu World [1992].

Glimpses of India: A Grand Photographic History of India, the Greatest Empire of the East [1992].

The New Cambridge History of India [1990].

Religion in India: A Historical Introduction [2006].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image result for flag of nepal beautiful 3d animationImage result for Nepal free wikitravel.org photos

Nepal National Flag                                                                Nepal. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Image result for india atlas stock photos

Atlases and Maps

Everest 50 (Scale 1:136,000) [2003].

Nepal = Nepala: Large Format Map of Nepal Himalaya [2014].

The Atlas of Nepal in the Modern World [1991].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Photo courtesy of 123rf.com]

Image result for flag of pakistan beautiful 3d animationImage result for Pakistan free wikitravel.org photos

Pakistan National Flag                                                           Karachi. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

 

Image result for sri lanka pakistan wikitravel.orgGeneral Reference

Contemporary Problems of Pakistan [1993].

Guide to the Sources of Asian History, 8, Pakistan [1990].

The Women of Pakistan: A Selected Bibliography with Annotations [1992].

World Bibliographical Series, v. 10, Pakistan [1990].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kamalban. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Image result for india atlas stock photos

Atlases and Maps

Greater Karachi Guide Map [1985?].

Oxford Atlas for Pakistan [1981].

Atlas of Pakistan [1997].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Photo courtesy of 123rf.com]

Image result for pakistan free images

Humanities

Architecture, Arts, Dance, Music

Arts and Crafts of Pakistan [1994].

Painting in Pakistan [1991].

 

Literature

Stories About the Partition of India [1994].

This Also Happened: An Anthology of Pakistan Short Stories [1986].

The English Language in Pakistan [1993].

 

Religion and Philosophy

The Religions of the Hindukush [1986].

Shadows in the Dark: A History of Christianity in Pakistan Up to the 10th Century [1984].

Faisal. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

Image result for flag of sri lanka beautiful 3d animationImage result for sri lanka free wikitravel.org photos

Sri Lanka National Flag                                                          Seychelles. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org

Image result for india atlas stock photos

Atlases and Maps

Arjuna's A-Z Guide of Greater Colombo, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Anuradhapur & Polonaruwa [1994].

The National Atlas of Sri Lanka [2007].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Photo courtesy of 123rf.com]

Image result for india pakistan nuclear issues free images

News, Information, and Organizations

BBC News - "South Asia Nuclear" 

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

Dawn [Pakistan]

The Hindu [India]

Hindustan Times [India]

India Today [India]

The Indian Express [India]

International News/Jang [Pakistan]

The Nation [Pakistan]

Rediff (Diaspora News Service) 

South Asia Citizens Web

The Times of India [India]

Research and Analysis

Association of Indian Progressive Study Groups (of Coloumbia University)  |  has several position papers on nuclear issues

Bhabha Atomic Research Centre  |  a center for India's nuclear research, near Bombay

Brookings Institution's India page

Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists  |  includes special collections of background information on nuclear proliferation in India and Pakistan, as well as statistics on India's nuclear forces

Carnegie Endowment for Peace South Asia page

Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)  |  based at Lancaster University, United Kingdom, reports regularly on South Asia nuclear issues

Center for Non-Proliferation Studies South Asia Page  |  has an excellent list of government, NGO, and media links on the tests and their history.

Council for a Livable World  |  an alliance of arms control and disarmament organizations, has extensive reporting about the nuclear issues in South Asia

Federation of American Scientists  |  covers the history and politics of both India's and Pakistan's nuclear programs

Global Beat: South Asian Security  |  an excellent list of resources for journalists and scholars, including background articles on the area and a list with phone numbers and email addresses. Provided by the Global Reporting Network, a program of the Center for War, Peace, and the News Media at New York University's Department of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Global Policy Forum India and Pakistan page  |  an non-profit organization with consultative status at the United Nations, has an index of UN documents on nuclear issues in South Asia

Institute of Peace & Conflict Studies  |  an Indian think tank on security policy

The Institute for Science and International Security (ISIS): India  |  Pakistan  |  has video, map and satellite images among other resources

International Crisis Group's report, India/Pakistan Relations and Kashmir: Steps Toward Peace (2004)

International law and India's nuclear tests is covered in American Society of International Law's India's Nuclear Tests by Frederic Kergis (1998)

Seismic data (1998) from the Indian underground nuclear tests and the Pakistani underground nuclear tests

India-Pakistan Nuclear Central  |  by the Nuclear Control Institute, brings together many resources, including maps of each country's nuclear infrastructure, includes a wide range of links to both government and independent sources

Natural Resources Defense Council gives an environmental perspective on The Consequences of Nuclear Conflict between India and Pakistan

Nuclear South Asia  |  a collection of essays by Indian academics, politicians, journalists on the tests, hosted by the Asia Society.

The Nuclear Weapons Archive  |  a guide to nuclear nations and their history, includes background materials on South Asia

South Asia Papers, sponsored by the Nautilus Institute, to help facilitate dialogue and the exchange of research on South Asian nuclear issues

Stimson Institute's Regional Security in South Asia

 

Related Information

Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organisation in Viennna, Austria  |  provides information on the Comprehensive Test Ban.

Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons  |  full-text provided by the US Arms Control and Defence Agency

Union of Concerned Scientists  |  a non-profit group opposed to nuclear weapons development

United Nations Disarmament Department  |  includes texts of resolutions and reports from the world body 

RAWA protest rally against Taliban in Peshawar April28-1998

General Information

  • Looking for NGOs (non-governmental organizations) in South Asia? Try the NGO database.
  • CorpWatch covers activities of social movements in South Asia, including statistics on the economy, local effects of globalization, analysis of economic reforms, and descriptions of anti-corporate and anti-poverty movements.
  • South Asia Citizens Web, a rich site on a variety of social, economic and political issues.
  • Third World Network is an independent non-profit international network of organizations involved in issues relating to development, poverty, and north-south relations.

 

Adivasi (Indigenous/"Tribals") and Dalit ("Untouchables") Movements

 

LGBT Movement

 

Environmental Movements

 

Fair Trade and Economic Development

 

Human Rights

 

Labor Movement

 

Peace Movement

 

Women's Movement

 

Historical Information About Social Movements

 

Online Magazines and Journals Covering Social Movements

Loading

Resource Overview          S/SEAL and the South Asia Collections          Exhibits and Galleries         Special Collections          Subject Guides

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.