Skip to main content

Southeast Asia Studies: Resource Overview

Image result for wikitravel.org southeast asia

Shillong. [Photo courtesy of wikitravel.org]

An Overview of Southeast Asia Studies at Berkeley

 

Image result for free stock photos of southeast asiaThe region of Southeast Asia includes 6 insular countries (Brunei, East Timor, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Singapore) and 5 mainland countries (CambodiaLaosMyanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam). 

 

UC Berkeley offers over 30 courses in Southeast Asian studies through 14 departments, most notably the Department of South & Southeast Asian Studies. Established in 1972, the department's courses cover South and Southeast Asian civilizations, languages, literature, and religious studies.

 

The Center for Southeast Asia Studies (CSEAS), established in 1960, enriches the study of Southeast Asia by sponsoring annual Southeast Asian studies conferences, lectures, and workshops throughout the academic year. These events provide numerous opportunities for international visitors to work with Berkeley faculty for promoting interdisciplinary Southeast Asia research. CSEAS events can be found on the CSEAS event calendar.

 

Libraries and Collections

The South/Southeast Asia Library (S/SEAL) serves as the center for Berkeley's Southeast Asia collections, which focus on the social sciences and humanities, covering both prewar and postwar periods in western and vernacular languages.

 

Subject Guides and Other Webliographies

Several Southeast Asia topics are represented with a subject guide, including film/cinema and women's studies.

 

 

 

International Directories

Use directories to find librarians, collections, and other Southeast Asia resources.

 

 

Thinking Comparatively:

Celebrating Benedict Anderson's Scholarship

Image result for benedict anderson free images

 

 

 

 

View Webliography

Exhibits and Galleries

Visit and learn more about our many online South Asia exhibits and galleries. Included are both online representations of past physical exhibits and online-only exhibits.

 

Special Collections

Berkeley's Southeast Asia Special Collections are most often the result of generous bequests and gifts from private collectors. Most special collections are housed and distributed by the Main Library and various subject specialty libraries and are accessible through the OskiCat and MELVYL catalogs.

 

Coming Thursday,  October 5th,  2017

Chinese Overseas: Celebrating the Legacy of Scholarship & Collection Treasures at UC Berkeley

The Berkeley Chinese Overseas Symposium is a celebration of the intellectual contributions of UC Berkeley’s research on Chinese communities overseas. UC Berkeley created one of North America's first Chinese American studies programs and holds one of the world’s largest Chinese American archives. This event is free and open to the public. The Advanced Registration deadline is August 1st, 2017.

This symposium is a pre-conference event for "This Land Is Our Land: Chinese Pluralities Through the Americas", an international conference hosted by the Chinese Historical Society of America from October 6-8, 2017 in San Francisco. 

Image result for jeffrey hadler free images

 

 

Celebrating the Intellectual Legacy

of Jeffrey Hadler (1968-2017)

 

An Exhibition

February through September 2017

in the South/Southeast Asia Library (120 Doe Library) 

 

 

View Outline of Dr. Hadler's Work

Resource Overview          S/SEAL and the Southeast Asia Collections          Exhibits and Galleries         Special Collections          Subject Guides          International Directories

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.